Mark Lee谈居家办公安全优先级

居家办公安全

在家工作的文明同已经不存在了:现在您如何增加安全性?

危机有一种快速转移优先事项的方法。当新冠肺炎大流行病袭来时,原本期望其工人出现在特定地点做工作的公司突然间陷入混乱,使大多数或所有雇员都可以在家工作。

以前的沉默寡言公司可能曾允许人们在家工作—对公司安全的恐惧,对视力不佳的员工会感到厌烦,对所涉及技术的生产力降低,实际质疑的担心—被新冠肺炎大流行危机所抛弃了。

因此,在家工作的概念脱颖而出了…… 有趣的是,即使有可能,公司也可能习惯远程办公了。

这就是为什么⬇

  • 生产率不仅没有崩溃,而且在许多情况下实际上比以前更高。
  • 人们可以在不同时区或轮班访问它们,从而昂贵地使用高端工作站等现场资源,例如24/7。
  • 更少的现场员工意味着公司可以降低设备成本。
  • 工人们减少了通勤时间和成本,这也对环境产生了积极影响。
  • 公司会发现,吸引和留住工人(尤其是千禧一代)更容易,他们欣赏在家中工作带来的更大工作/生活平衡。

居家办公的安全性落后了吗?

急于在危机情况下实施居家办公的策略时,许多组织没有优先考虑重要基础架构和安全问题的奢望。他们经常求助于虚拟专用网络(VPN),Microsoft RDP(远程桌面协议)或虚拟网络计算(VNC),这些都是众所周知的,尤其是快速实现,配置,管理和扩展,既困难又耗时。或者他们采用了各种视频会议和协作工具,而这些工具还没有完全审查安全性和隐私问题。现在看来在家工作可能会成为一种新规范,现在该退后一步,重新审视远程工作基础架构和工具,以确保它们可以长期发挥所需的性能。

#1优先级必须是安全性。

对隐私和安全的担忧已经导致包括特斯拉在内的学校和公司禁止使用Zoom视频会议。尽管VPN吹捧其安全功能,但事实是VPN安全取决于公司发行的设备以及对基础结构和软件的手动更新。 2020年3月, 美国国土安全部(DHS)警告 :“由于VPN是24/7,因此组织不太可能使用最新的安全更新和补丁来更新它们。”

简单地说,假设VPN是使员工能够居家办公的最佳方法,这实际上是错误的。危险地错了。实际上,传统VPN从未针对远程桌面访问进行设计或优化。

我们有什么选择?

>专为远程访问而设计的解决方案,尤其是远程访问解决方案,这些解决方案可提供组织所需的强大安全性,因为更多员工居家办公。

这是你应该看看的

  • 单点登录(SSO)功能,确保员工密码符合合规性和安全性要求
  • 设备认证;大多数VPN不具备此功能
  • 多因素认证
  • 支持BYOD(自带设备),而不是要求远程用户使用公司发行的设备以确保安全
  • 单击连接功能,而不是痛苦的设置,连接时间长且通常会降低基于VPN的解决方案的性能
  • 自动化的基础架构和软件更新,因为依赖于VPN所需的手动更新,不仅暴露了安全风险,而且还导致停机和兼容性问题
  • 高性能,低延迟解决方案,能够支持高清流视频,从而提高了用户生产力
  • 快速便捷的可扩展性,可为成千上万的用户
  • 无需在每个远程站点上设置网关硬件
  • IT部门能够控制文件传输和远程打印(即禁用或启用它们)
  • 易于阅读的日志,会话记录以及轻松的监视和报告

得知Splashtop remote-accessremote-support产品提供了所有这些条件以及更多条件,这不会让您感到惊讶。

我们在设计Splashtop解决方案时并未考虑到当前的这种新冠肺炎大流行。但是,我们一直将远程访问方法视为个人和组织在面对各种挑战时保持灵活性并为业务连续性做好准备的重要工具

因为新冠肺炎的存在,居家办公绝对是物超所值。我们邀请您了解更多有关强大的Splashtop remote access 解决方案 不仅帮您度过这场风暴,而且可以在这场大流行危机过去很长时间之后,使居家办公成为成功组织的积极组成部分。

Mark Lee,

Splashtop Inc CEO

Mark Lee on WFH Security Priorities

WFH security

The Work-From-Home Genie Is Out of the Bottle: Now How Do You Add in Security?

Crises have a way of shifting priorities, fast. When the COVID-19 pandemic hit, companies that had expected their workers to show up at a particular place to do their jobs all of a sudden scrambled to enable most or all of their employees to work from home.

Previous reticence companies might have had about allowing people to work from home—fears about corporate security, concern that out-of-sight employees would goof off and be less productive, practical doubts about the technology involved—was pushed aside by the pandemic crisis.

And so the work-from-home genie shot out of its bottle… Interestingly, companies might not be enthusiastic about cramming it back in the bottle, even if they could. 

Here is why ⬇

  • Productivity not only isn’t crashing, but in many cases is actually higher than before.
  • Expensive on-site resources such as high-end workstations can be leveraged 24/7 by people accessing them in different time zones or shifts.
  • Fewer on-site employees mean companies can reduce their facility costs.
  • Workers slash their commuting time and costs—which also has positive environmental effects.
  • Companies can find it easier to attract and retain workers, especially millennials, who appreciate the greater work/life balance they can enjoy by working from home.

WFH Security Got Left Behind ?

In their rush to put work-from-home strategies in place under crisis conditions, many organizations didn’t have the luxury of prioritizing important infrastructure and security issues. They often turned to virtual private networks (VPNs), Microsoft RDP (Remote Desktop Protocol), or virtual network computing (VNC)—all notoriously difficult and time-consuming to implement, configure, manage, and scale, especially quickly. Or they adopted various videoconferencing and collaboration tools where security and privacy issues have not been fully vetted. Now that it looks like working from home could become a new norm, it’s time to step back and revisit the remote work infrastructure and tools to make sure they perform as needed over the long haul.

The #1 priority must be security.

Already, concerns about privacy and security have caused schools and companies, including Tesla, to ban the use of Zoom videoconferencing. And while VPNs tout their security capabilities, the reality is that VPN security depends on company-issued devices as well as manual updating of infrastructure and software. In March 2020, the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) warned: “As VPNs are 24/7, organizations are less likely to keep them updated with the latest security updates and patches.”

To put it more simply, assuming that VPNs are the best way to enable employees to work from home is actually wrong. Dangerously wrong. In fact, legacy VPN was never designed nor optimized for remote desktop access.

What’s the alternative?

—> Solutions designed specifically for remote access, and in particular remote-access solutions that offer the robust security that organizations will need as more of their people are working from home.

Here is what you should look for ⬇

  • Single sign-on (SSO) capability, ensuring employee passwords meet compliance and security requirements
  • Device authentication; most VPNs do not have this capability
  • Multi-factor authentication
  • Support for BYOD (bring your own device) rather than requiring remote users to use company-issued devices to ensure security
  • Click-and-connect capability, as opposed to the painful setup, long times to connection, and often slow performance of VPN-based solutions
  • Automated infrastructure and software updates, because relying on manual updating, as is necessary with VPNs, not only exposes security risks but also causes downtime and compatibility issues
  • High-performance, low-latency solution able to support streaming HD video, thus improving user productivity
  • Fast, easy scalability for thousands of users
  • No requirement for setting up gateway hardware at each remote site
  • The ability for IT to control file transfers and remote print (i.e., disabling or enabling them)
  • Human-readable logs, session recording, and easy monitoring and reporting

It won’t surprise you to learn that Splashtop remote-access and remote-support products deliver all these criteria, and more.

We didn’t design Splashtop solutions with this current pandemic in mind. But we have always seen our remote-access approach as an important tool for individuals and organizations to remain flexible and prepared for business continuity in the face of all kinds of challenges.

With COVID-19, the work-from-home genie is definitely out of the bottle. We invite you to find out more about how the powerful Splashtop remote access solutions can not only help weather this immediate storm, but also make working from home a positive part of successful organizations long after this pandemic crisis has passed.

Mark Lee,

Chief Evangelist, Splashtop Inc