新冠肺炎期间居家办公–正在消失的办公室

在办公室工作

7,170,000,000。

如果您搜索“新冠疫情期间居家办公”,那么Google搜索引擎将返回大约7,170,000,000个结果(截至2020年6月22日,星期一)。关于居家办公(WFH)的很多内容。

现在几乎每个星期,我们都听说有一家公司决定远程办公至年底。 Google,Facebook,Microsoft,Slack,Zillow,Palo Alto Networks,Box甚至Sagicor(加勒比地区最著名的保险提供商)就是这种情况。我们已经注意到,关于WFH的新闻报道意味着办公室正在消失,而在新冠疫情之后的世界中,我们都将需要远程办公。但是我们准备好了吗?

办公室的未来是什么?远程工作的未来是什么?公司在新冠疫情后将面临哪些隐私和安全问题?企业如何为所有这些做好准备?为了进一步探讨这个问题,我们采访了来自不同行业的几位高管和人力资源主管,他们都同意一件事: 办公室不会消失。

办公室存在的5个理由> 首席执行官和人力资源主管的见解

一:实体办公室是声望,品牌和信任的强烈信号

据Dmytro Okunyev,team-chat软件制造商的创始人Chanty介绍: “实际的办公室是信誉的标志,一种方式来描绘一个业务成功的潜在客户和竞争。”

专业雇主组织经纪人PEOCompare的人力资源经理Nelson Sherwin补充说,客户希望看到一个实体办公室,不仅是为了品牌推广,还因为他们对完全偏远的公司有某种偏见和不信任感。纳尔逊说:“客户通常希望进来参观,进行面对面的会议,并审查您的公司,而他们无法通过Skype电话做到这一点。”

经纪公司Mitrade的人力资源经理James Jason确认,无论在家中如何有效地工作,客户和其他利益相关者都需要一个专业的空间,使他们可以访问而又不会觉得自己在侵犯任何人的隐私。

此外,办公家具制造商Poppin的人力资源总监Allison Schworn认为,对于许多人而言,在实体办公室工作是刚需。 “我们发现客户希望亲自看到实物产品进行测试,” Allison说。

建筑公司Cooper Carry的品牌总监Katherine Stone强调说:“实体办公室不仅仅是生产力的地方,它是人们与公司使命和灵魂互动的地方。换句话说,办公室是公司品牌的实体体现。”凯瑟琳说。 ”

二:社交互动很难在完全WFH环境中复制

亚里斯多德曾经说过:“人天生就是一种社交动物。”即使在数字时代,这种说法仍然适用。精品数字代理机构IT Media的所有者Ashley Monk表示,尽管技术是一项巨大的资产,但“没有什么能取代人与人的联系”。

高管教练和管理咨询公司BeyondBetter的常务董事Amie Devero补充说,尽管新技术可以复制办公室生活的基础知识,但在此过程中却失去了许多人与人之间的互动。艾米强调:“通过非正式和计划外的互动,会发生大量的员工和社会发展。”她解释说,这可能是“在休息室进行的互动,团队成员之间的悄悄话,以及团队成员对别人的言论做出反应时看到的肢体语言。”艾米(Amie)总结说,尽管这些互动如果单独进行看似无关紧要,但它们可以合计为“大量的经验,学习和更好的人际关系。”

活动管理公司3C Strategies LLC的创始人兼首席执行官Chris Chan同意Amie的话。克里斯说:“没有休息室或没有咖啡,我们在建立将会错过建立休闲的人际关系的机会。” “虽然人们现在还可以,但对于那些不认识他们的同事并且没有以休闲方式从办公室认识他们的新人来说,它将变得非常孤立。”

技术研究公司Software Pundit的首席执行官Bruce Hogan进一步强调了这种社会需求。布鲁斯说:“亲自与团队成员互动有助于建立联系。” “在没有办公室的情况下,我不相信个人也会彼此了解。”

三:办公室里的创新和员工发展可能会更好

“在Splashtop,我们很幸运地看到了团队的生产力极大提高,每个人都对团队一直非常努力提供他们最好的作品,”Splashtop的首席执行官Mark Lee表示。就在最近,我们发布了一项调查结果,该调查表明,目前居家办公的大多数劳动力的生产率都有所提高 。但是,如果没有采取适当的措施使员工能够通过远程设置进行有效的开发和工作,那么就需要权衡取舍。

拥有100年历史的纽约市技术领先的建筑公司Mancini Duffy的总裁Christian Giordano着重强调了工作场所的未来前景。“视频会议电话或屏幕共享不能激发创意和创新。”

英国AI金融交易流搜索引擎mnAI的首席执行官JohnCushing声称,这是因为"最好的商业理念和运营(经常)是面对面的。

3C Strategies的首席执行官Chris Chan对可能出现的创造力和创新能力的下降做出解释。 “居家办公使我们坚持熟悉的事物并停留在我们的正常范围内,减少了我们走出舒适区和常规活动的意愿,这会妨碍创新思维和构想。”

数字营销公司Robben Media的首席执行官Brian Robben补充说,最好的培训和指导也要亲自进行:“如果没有办公室,这些人无法从视频通话和电子邮件中很好的学习,这是不一样的。”

转录外包公司首席执行官本Benjamin Walker强调说,很难确定要虚拟推广的人。 如果您的老板回到办公室,您也应该回到办公室,因为永久地不在老板的视线和头脑中很容易让其他人获得您想要的晋升机会。”本说。

四:关于WFH,办公室和心理健康风险的混合看法

当一家公司完全远程办公时,工作与下班之间的界限变得非常模糊。来自BeyondBetter的Amie Deverro说,这是由于每天在相同环境中生活,工作,睡眠,饮食和醒来的相同性,导致精神停滞。

为什么会这样?Amie解释说,去办公室提供了一种新的刺激:“无论是在火车上,在交通中,在办公室中,在午餐时步行或在电梯中看到新朋友时,当他们得到新的刺激,我们的大脑都会创造新的神经通路。 ” Calendar的首席执行官John Rampton补充说,物理办公室有助于维持某种工作与生活的平衡,因此,他的团队很高兴回到办公室。

但是,也可能有人争辩说,WFH实际上可以帮助改善心理健康:减少交通时间,减少工作日的分心,不参加办公室政治活动以及获得更舒适的工作环境。这表明,这完全取决于所涉及的工作类型,以及员工是否极端孤立(一个人住吗?),性格内向或外向。

五:对安全性和IT基础结构的影响

办公室不仅仅是与同事互动;这也是许多企业保留其硬件,服务器和IT机器的物理位置。它是许多公司IT基础架构的骨干。高档接发和配饰电子商务商店Amazing Beauty Hair的首席执行官Jack Wang说:“移动整个设备来容纳一个完全远程的在家工作需要大量的工作和金钱。” 。

工作场所健康跟踪解决方案制造商Ontrack运营技术高级总监Camilo Barrero解释说,还需要考虑数字安全性和基础设施可靠性组件。 Camilo说:“即使在家中使用高速Internet并可以访问公司的VPN,一些办公室也提供专门为安全协议或满足某些技术要求而设计的技术基础架构。”

在此对话中,领先的IT托管服务提供商SabinoCompTech的首席执行官兼联合创始人Nancy Sabino补充说,当员工在家工作时,不可预测的Internet连接稳定性,带宽和安全性是令人担忧的问题。根据抗体制造商Boster Bio的销售副总裁CJ Xia的说法,数据显示,黑客瞄准的是智能家居设备,而Wi-Fi可能成为他们攻击办公资产的中心。

SabinoCompTech的Nancy说:“要确保员工拥有适当数量的访问权限,他们需要提高生产力,就必须安全,适当地管理员工住所的互联网和其他远程工具。”

那么,这一切的结论是什么?

尽管上面提到了有效的担忧,但仍有越来越多的人希望完全远程办公。在IBM最近的一项劳动力调查中,有75%的人表示他们希望至少偶尔继续进行远程工作,而超过一半(54%)的人希望这是他们的主要工作方式。那里还有许多其他调查也有类似的说法,其中大多数调查声称有60%的劳动者想远程办公。但是其他40%呢?在所有这些主张中,企业可能很难决定最适合他们的方案。

这就是为什么RFP360的首席执行官兼联合创始人David Hulsen(帮助组织请求信息并响应请求的软件解决方案制造商)对他的员工进行调查以找出他们想要的东西的原因。他发现了什么?人们仍然希望在工作场所进行社交互动,但这并不意味着他们希望事情像往常一样回到办公室。David 说:“这意味着我们对办公室的期望正在不断发展,我们既要包括远程工作人员,又要为人们提供亲自交流的社交空间。”

为此,Splashtop首席执行官Mark Lee补充说:“居家办公的精灵不适合装在瓶子中,但是尽管需要物理办公室,但公司也不应热衷于将其装回瓶子。 ”此外,Mark补充道,“虽然不能否认实体办公室的优势,但也不能否认在家办公的惊人优势:降低运营成本,获得全球人才库,吸引数字游牧民的能力,例如Z世代,减少了浪费的时间,减少了工作中断,提高了生产力,减少了碳排放,并保持了业务连续性。”

这对办公室和工作的未来以及我们上面提出的问题意味着什么?这意味着我们正在朝着混合办公室迈进:一个工作空间,远程和物理工作环境相互补充,以提供两全其美的条件:员工的生活平衡,社交互动,强大的安全性,超强的生产力以及降低公司的成本。

而且,如果您准备好使用混合办公室,则Splashtop可以为您提供帮助。作为支持数以千万计用户的平台,我们使组织能够采用现代化的工作方式-在任何地方安全有效地工作-帮助各行各业的组织创建生产力更高且功能更强大的员工队伍。

学习如何为部分远程工作人员设置混合办公室,为面对后新冠肺炎时代做好准备。


关于Splashtop –灵活劳动力的合作伙伴

Splashtop Inc.位于硅谷,可提供最有价值和同类最佳的远程计算机访问和协作解决方案。 Splashtop remote access桌面服务使人们可以从任何地方的任何设备访问其应用程序和数据。Splashtop Remote Support 服务允许IT和MSP支持计算机,移动设备,工业设备和物联网(IoT)。Splashtop On-Demand Support解决方案使支持和服务台团队能够远程访问计算机以及iOS和Android设备以提供支持。 Splashtop协作服务(包括Mirroring360和Classroom)可实现跨设备一对多的有效屏幕共享。超过3000万用户喜欢Splashtop产品。有关更多信息,请访问splashtop.com

WFH Post COVID – No the office is not going away

working from the office

7,170,000,000.

If you search for “working from home post COVID,” the Google search engine will return about 7,170,000,000 results (as of Monday, June 22, 2020). That’s a lot of content on working from home (WFH).

Almost every week now, we hear that a company has decided to go completely remote until the end of the year. It is the case for Google, Facebook, Microsoft, Slack, Zillow, Palo Alto Networks, Box, and even Sagicor – The Caribbean’s most prominent insurance provider. We have noticed that all this noise on WFH news coverage implies that the office is going away and that we are all going completely remote in a post-COVID-19 world. But are we?

What is the future of the office? What is the future of remote work? What are the privacy and security issues that companies will face post-COVID? How can businesses get ready for all of it? To explore this issue further, we interviewed a few executives and HR leaders from diverse industries, and they all agree on one thing: The office is not going away. 

5 Reasons Why the Office Is Here to Stay > Insights from CEOs and HR Leaders

I. A physical office is a strong signal for prestige, branding & trust

According to Dmytro Okunyev, founder of team-chat software maker Chanty, “a physical office is a sign of prestige, a way to portray a business as successful to prospective clients and competition.”

Nelson Sherwin, HR manager at PEOCompare, a professional employer organization broker, adds that clients want to see a physical office not just for branding but because they have some sort of bias and mistrust toward a fully remote company. “Clients typically want to come in and visit, have in-person meetings, and basically vet your company,” said Nelson, “and they can’t do that through a Skype call.”

James Jason, HR manager at the brokerage firm Mitrade, confirmed that no matter how effective working from home can be, customers and other stakeholders need a professional space where they can visit without feeling like they are infringing on anyone’s privacy.

Additionally, according to Allison Schworn, HR Director at office furniture manufacturer Poppin, for many, a physical office is not just recommended; it is a need. “We have found that customers want to see physical products in person to test them out,” said Allison.

And Katherine Stone, brand director at architecture firm Cooper Carry, highlighted that “A physical office is much more than a place for productivity, it’s a place where people interact with the company’s mission and soul. In other words, offices are the physical manifestation of a company’s brand,” said Katherine. ”

II. Social interactions are hard to replicate in a fully WFH environment

Aristotle once said that “Man is by nature a social animal.” This statement remains true even in the digital age. Though technology is a great asset, “nothing substitutes for personal connection,” said Ashley Monk, owner of IT Media, a boutique digital agency.

Amie Devero, Managing Director at BeyondBetter, an executive coaching and management consulting firm, added that while new technologies enable replication of the basics of office life, many human interactions get lost in the process. “There is a tremendous amount of employee and social development that happens through informal and unplanned interactions,” stressed Amie. She explained that this could be “interactions made in the break room, an overheard conversation between members of a team you aren’t part of, and the body language we see when team members react to someone else’s remark.” Amie concluded that while these interactions can seem inconsequential when they are taken individually, they can add up to “a vast collection of experience, learning, and better social relationships.”

Chris Chan, Founder and CEO at event management firm 3C Strategies LLC, agreed with Amie’s remarks. “With no breakrooms or coffee runs, we miss an essential aspect of the work environment in the building of interpersonal relationships on a casual level,” said Chris. “And while people are OK now, it’ll get very isolating for those new people entering the workforce who don’t know their fellow employees and don’t have a casual way to get to know them from an office setting.”

Bruce Hogan, CEO of technology research firm Software Pundit, further emphasized this social need. “Interacting with team members in-person helps build bonds,” said Bruce. “Without the office, I do not believe that individuals would get to know one another as well.”

III. Innovation & Employee Development Could be Better in the Office

“At Splashtop, we have been fortunate to see a tremendous increase in the team’s productivity, and everyone on the team has been working extremely hard to provide their best work,” said Mark Lee, CEO of Splashtop. Just recently, we published results of a survey that revealed an increase in productivity for the majority of the workforce currently working from home. However, this productivity can come with tradeoffs when proper measures are not put in place to enable employees to both develop and work productively from remote settings.

Christian Giordano, President of Mancini Duffy—a 100-year-old NYC tech-first architecture firm that is working closely with their clients to reimagine what the future of the workplace will look like—stressed that “Video conference calls or screen sharing cannot replicate the unexpected office encounters that spur creativity and innovation.”

That’s because “the best business ideas and operations are [often] done in-person on the fly,” claimed John Cushing, CEO of mnAI, a UK-based AI-powered financial deal-flow search engine.

3C Strategies’ CEO Chris Chan might have an explanation for this decrease in creativity and innovation. “Working from home leaves us sticking with the familiar and staying within our normal confines, reducing our inclination to step out of our comfort zones and routines, which can hamper innovative thinking and ideation.”

Brian Robben, CEO of digital marketing agency Robben Media, added that the best training and mentoring also happens in person: “If there’s no office, these people are stuck learning from video calls and emails, which is not the same.”

Benjamin Walker, CEO of Transcription Outsourcing, stressed that it can also be hard to decide whom to promote virtually. If your boss goes back to the office, you should also probably go back to the office, because being out of sight permanently and out of mind could easily allow someone else to get the promotion you were in line for.” said Ben.

IV. A Mixed View on WFH, the Office, and Mental Health Risks

When a company goes fully remote, the lines between work and off-work become very blurry. Amie Deverro from BeyondBetter said that this is due to a sameness of living, working, sleeping, eating, and waking in the same environment every day, which leads to mental stagnation.

Why? Amie explained that going to an office provides a new stimulus: “Whether gained on the train, in traffic, in the office, while walking to lunch or seeing new people in the elevator, our brains create new neural pathways when they get new input.” John Rampton, CEO of Calendar, added that a physical office helps maintain some type of work-life balance and that for this reason, his team is very excited to get back to the office.

However, one could also argue that WFH can actually help with mental health: less time spent in traffic, reduced distractions during the workday, staying out of office politics, and access to a more comfortable work environment. This suggests that it would all depend on the type of work involved and whether employees are extremely isolated (live alone?), introverts, or extroverts.

V. Implications for Security and IT Infrastructure

The office is not just about interacting with coworkers; it’s also a physical location where many businesses keep their hardware, servers, and IT machines. It is the backbone of the IT infrastructure for many companies. “It would entail a lot of work and money to move the entire thing just to accommodate a fully remote work-from-home setup,” said Jack Wang, CEO of Amazing Beauty Hair, an e-commerce store of premium hair extensions and accessories.

There is also the digital security and infrastructure reliability component to consider, explained Camilo Barrero, Senior Director of Operations Technology at Ontrack, makers of workplace health tracking solutions. “Even with high-speed Internet at home and access to company VPNs, some offices provide technical infrastructure designed specifically for security protocols or to meet certain technical,” said Camilo.

To this conversation, Nancy Sabino, CEO, and co-founder of leading IT managed service provider SabinoCompTech, added that unpredictable internet accessibility, bandwidth, and security are concerns when employees are working from home. And according to CJ Xia, VP of Sales at antibody manufacturer Boster Bio, data shows that hackers are targeting smart home devices, and Wi-Fi could be the center for them to attack office assets.

“Ensuring that employees have the right amount of access they’ll need to be productive requires that the internet and other remote tools for employees’ homes be securely and properly managed,” said SabinoCompTech’s Nancy.

So, what’s the conclusion on all this?

Despite the valid concerns mentioned above, a growing number of people still report wanting to go completely remote. In a recent workforce survey by IBM, 75 percent indicated that they would like to continue to work remotely at least occasionally, while more than half—54 percent—would like this to be their primary way of working. There are many other surveys out there making similar claims, with the majority of these surveys claiming that 60% of the workforce want to go remote. But what about the other 40%? Amid all these claims, it can be hard for businesses to decide what would work best for them.

That’s why David Hulsen, CEO and co-founder of RFP360, makers of software solutions that help organizations request information and respond to requests, surveyed his employees to find out what they wanted. His findings? People still want social interaction in the workplace, but this does not mean they want things to go back to the office as usual. “This means that our expectations for the office are evolving and that we have to both include remote workers as well as offer a social space for people to interact in person,” said David.

To this, Splashtop CEO Mark Lee added that “the work-from-home genie is out of its bottle—but despite the need for a physical office, companies should not be enthusiastic about cramming it back in the bottle, even if they could.” Additionally, added Mark, “while there is no denying the benefits of a physical office, there is also no denying the amazing benefits of working from home: reduced operational cost, access to a global talent pool, the ability to attract digital nomads like the Generation Z, a reduction of wasted time in traffic, an increase in productivity from reduced work disruptions, a smaller carbon footprint, and business continuity.”

What does this mean for the office and the future of work and the questions we asked above? It means that we are moving toward a hybrid office: A workspace where remote and physical work environments complement each other to provide the best of both worlds: life balance for employees, social interactions, robust security, super-charged productivity, and reduced cost for companies.

And If you are ready for the hybrid office, Splashtop can help. As a platform supporting tens of millions of users, we enable organizations to embrace the modern way of working—securely and efficiently working from anywhere—to help organizations across various industries create a productive and more empowered workforce.

Get Ready for the post-COVID world by learning how to set up your hybrid office for a partially remote workforce.


About Splashtop – Your Partner for A Flexible Workforce

Based in Silicon Valley, Splashtop Inc. delivers best-value and best-in-class remote computer access and collaboration solutions. Splashtop remote access desktop services enable people to access their apps and data from any device, anywhere. Splashtop remote support services allow IT and MSPs to support computers, mobile, industrial equipment, and the Internet of things (IoT). Splashtop on-demand support solutions enable support and help desk teams to remotely access computers as well as iOS and Android devices to provide support. Splashtop collaboration services, including Mirroring360 and Classroom, enable effective screen sharing, one-to-many, across devices. More than 30 million users enjoy Splashtop products. For more information, visit splashtop.com.