未来是混合办公室的时代,做好准备吧

混合办公室

在最近的一篇文章中,我们探讨了与不同行业的首席执行官和人力资源领导者合作的未来。我们的发现? 办公室不会消失 。那远程工作的爆炸式增长意味着什么?如果办公室不消失,那是否就意味着远程工作不会继续进行?不必要。最终,我们从关于未来工作的讨论中得出的结论是,未来是混合的。

什么是混合办公室,企业如何准备建立混合办公室?顾名思义,混合办公室是一种办公室设置,员工可以灵活地从办公室或其他任何地方使用他们执行工作所需的工具。

公司需要制定哪些安全要求和政策?企业应采用哪种类型的办公基础设施来为未来的工作做好准备?支持它所需的设备和工具是什么?思考所有这些问题,并通过3个简单的步骤来学习如何设置混合办公室。

1、简单介绍混合办公室政策

当新冠肺炎重创企业,并迫使企业转向远程办公时,不扩展远程办公功能的企业变得更困难。由于许多人以前没有进行过远程工作,因此他们没有如何高效地进行远程工作的经验。我们也发现并非所有员工都适合远程工作。通过制定混合办公室政策,雇主可以确保员工遵循正确的准则。这是设置混合办公室策略的方法。

  1. 明确定义该策略适用于谁 –告知公司的哪些成员可以居家办公。也许新入职员工需要在前30天在办公室工作以熟悉工作流程?也许有些职位不适合远程办公?无论这些问题的答案是什么,请确保将其添加到您的策略中。
  2. 为员工何时可以处于远程状态以及何时应该去办公室设定期望和准则 –当您设置远程办公室时,您是否计划让员工在家三天和在办公室两天工作?您是否正在考虑为远程办公设置津贴,并授予员工何时使用它们的完全权限?或者,您是否希望经理为他们的团队定义远程津贴?您打算让它完全开放吗?是否有必须参加的现场会议?远程工作者每天应投入多少小时?有很多考虑。列出所有可能的方案,并确保在策略中包括每个项目的准则。
  3. 定义员工居家办公的方式 –员工应该将办公室提供的计算机移动到远程位置还是应该根据需要远程访问?您是否有可用的远程桌面工具,他们可以用来远程访问计算机?团队成员应使用哪些应用程序相互通信?无论您使用什么工具,请确保每个人都知道自己是什么以及如何使用它们。
  4. 充分强调安全性 -这确实很重要。我们生活在数字时代,每天黑客都在更加努力地突破安全防线。虽然没有完美的安全性,但不要让他们容易被突破。确保遵循所有安全准则并遵守它们。在您的策略中简要介绍它们,并确保您的团队知道如何遵循这些准则。

2、修改您的办公空间并进行配置以满足您明确定义的目标

还有个不言而喻的情况。–如果员工一周只来几天,甚至一个月才来几天,您是否需要一个大型办公室?可能不是。那么,如何充分利用物理办公空间呢?这是您应该先探索为什么要拥有混合办公室的原因。

员工生活平衡吗?社交互动充足吗?安全性强吗?生产力强吗?为您的公司降低成本了吗?为什么这很重要?它将定义您如何设置办公室空间。那就是多少个部分远程的企业正在配置他们的工作区。

例如,与传统的办公室设置相比,大本营的办公室更多地被安排为会议场所。 在接受FastCompany采访时 ,Base Camp的首席执行官Jason Fried说,他设计了自己公司的办公室,以模拟没人在办公室的情况。

“如果您在家里的次卧,或者白天没有人在附近,那么您不会分心。您处于一个可以控制的环境中,您独立地工作,进入更深入的工作,并且[不会]被其他人打扰。我们希望创建一个办公空间来模拟其优势,但同时也为人们提供一个在声音受控的环境中聚会的机会。”
– Base Camp的首席执行官Jason Fried说道。

所以这对于你来说意味着什么?如果您建立办公室的目标是我们上面提到的原因,那么您需要配置办公室以促进协作,提高生产力和安全性。这意味着传统的并排隔间设计可能没有意义。您可能希望加入旋转办公桌,在更具社交互动性的空间中进行工作,以使员工能够相互交流和协作。也许那意味着要用休息室代替咖啡室?

而且,如果将办公室用作打动潜在客户的品牌信号,也许您应该投资购买先进的会议室。此外,如果办公室的空余空间比满员的空间大,也许您不需要那么多会议室?另外,如果您打算使用办公室举办季度社交活动,也许您应该投资建立一个令人惊叹的社交空间,您的团队可以每季度进行社交活动。显然,您需要考虑一种符合最高卫生法规的设计,以在当前的COVID19大流行等情况下保护您的组织。

这些只是要探索的领域中的几个。 最重要的是,您需要定义要完成的任务并相应地设计空间。

三、投资正确的工具和技术,以有效地支持您的混合团队

您需要什么工具来使您的团队远程,高效和安全地工作?您是否应该为员工购买远程计算机和办公计算机?您是否应该为团队使用的软件复制许可证,以便它们可以在办公室或其他任何可以使用的地方使用它们?这些是您需要的工具。

1.远程访问—> BYOD + Splashshtop远程访问

BYOD +REMOTE ACCESS =技术的完美融合,使混合劳动力成为可能

长期以来,传统的远程工作方式一直是通过公司的VPN网络进行的。 事实证明,这对于启用远程劳动力而言不是最佳且可扩展的 :VPN成本高昂,难以扩展且性能不可靠。显而易见,远程访问是启用混合劳动力的更好,最理想的方式。下面是它的工作原理。

  1. 远程访问远程访问使用户可以通过任何个人Windows或Mac计算机甚至iOS或Android移动设备访问工作计算机。这使公司可以利用员工的个人设备(笔记本电脑、平板电脑、智能手机)。这种设置已经流行了一段时间。它称为BYOD –自带设备(BYOD)策略,使员工可以使用其个人设备(例如笔记本电脑,智能手机和平板电脑)访问与工作相关的网络或系统。使用REMOTE ACCESS 和BYOD,无需投资重复的设备或软件许可证,因为当员工使用远程访问时,他们可以连接到本地计算机并像坐在计算机前一样使用它。

选择远程访问解决方案时关注–>可靠性、安全性、成本和易用性

尽管有许多远程访问工具,但大多数都是不灵活、定价过高的或不够安全的。那就是Splashtop优秀的地方。 Splashtop是市场上最有价值的远程访问解决方案–价格通常比竞争产品和企业级产品低80% ,并且所有远程会话均具有4K流等功能。 您可以在此处找到有关Splashtop和我们的远程访问解决方案的更多信息,以及免费试用它们而无需信用卡支付

话虽如此,这是您在任何远程访问解决方案中都应该寻找的,无论是Splashtop还是其他解决方案:

  • 单点登录(SSO)功能,以确保员工密码符合合规性和安全性要求
  • 设备认证;大多数VPN不具备此功能
  • 多因素认证
  • 支持BYOD(自带设备),而不是要求远程用户使用公司发行的设备以确保安全
  • 单击连接功能,而不是设置麻烦,连接时间长且通常会降低性能的基于VPN的解决方案
  • 自动化的基础架构和软件更新,因为依赖于VPN所需的手动更新,不仅暴露了安全风险,而且还导致停机和兼容性问题
  • 高性能,低延迟解决方案,能够支持高清流视频,从而提高了用户生产力
  • 快速便捷的可扩展性,可为成千上万的用户
  • 无需在每个远程站点上设置网关硬件
  • IT部门能够控制文件传输和远程打印(即禁用或启用它们)
  • 易于阅读的日志,会话记录以及轻松的监视和报告

2.项目管理: ProofHub,Trello,Monday和Workfront。

3.实时通信: Slack,Skype和Zoom。

4.协作: Google云端硬盘,Microsoft Teams和Confluence。

5.团队监视和管理: Hubstaff,Officevibe和JotForm。

您可以在此处详细了解所有这些工具

虽然这不是详尽的清单,但它涵盖了设置混合办公室时应考虑的关键要素,并使您的员工可以在任何地方高效地工作。还有其他关于建立远程团队的问题吗? 随时联系我们。您也可以通过单击下面的链接开始免费试用remote access。


你也可能对此有兴趣:

WFH邮政COVID 19 –没有办公室不消失

2020年 Splashtop 居家办公调查

居家办公的时代开启了:现在您如何确保安全性?

The future of work is the hybrid office and here is how you can prepare for it

hybrid office

In a recent article, we explored the future of work with CEOs and HR leaders in diverse industries. Our findings? The office is not going away. Then what about the explosion of remote work? If the office is not going away, wouldn’t that mean that remote work is not going to stick? Not necessarily. Ultimately, what we concluded from our discussion on the future of work is that the future is hybrid.

What is a hybrid office, and how can businesses prepare for setting up a hybrid workforce? As its name implies, the hybrid office is an office setup where employees have the flexibility to work from the office or anywhere else they have access to the tools they need to perform their work.

What are the security requirements and policies companies need to put in place? What type of office infrastructure should businesses put in place to get ready for the future of work? What are the equipment and tools needed to support it? Get an answer to all these questions and learn how to set up your hybrid office in 3 simple steps.

I. Outline a hybrid office policy

When COVID19 hit and forced businesses to go remote, the harder part was not to extend remote work capabilities; it was implementing it and guiding employees in the process. As many had not worked remotely before, they had no experience in how to do it productively. It was also quickly discovered that not all employees are fit to work remotely. By putting in place a hybrid office policy, employers can ensure that employees follow the right guidelines. Here is how you can set up a Hybrid Office Policy.

  1. Clearly define who the policy applies to – Make it known which members of the company can work from home. Perhaps new employees are required to work in the office for the first 30 days to facilitate their onboarding? Maybe some positions cannot be remote? Whatever the answers to these questions are, make sure to add them to your policy.
  2. Set expectations and guidelines for when employees can be remote and when they should be on promise work – When you are setting up your remote office, are you planning to have employees work three days from home and two days in the office? Are you thinking of putting in place an allowance for remote days and giving employees complete authority on when to use them? Or, do you want managers to define the remote allowance for their team? Are you planning to leave it completely open? Are there must-attend on-site meetings? How many hours should remote workers put in each day? There is a lot to consider. List out all of the possible scenarios and make sure to include guidelines for each item in your policy.
  3. Communicate how employees will work from home – Should employees move their office provided computers to their remote locations or should they access it remotely as needed? Is there a remote desktop tool you have in place that they can use to access their computers remotely? What apps should team members use to communicate with each other? Whatever tools you have in place, make sure everyone knows what they are and how to use them.
  4. Overemphasize on security – This is really important. We live in the digital age, and everyday hackers work harder to breach trough security walls. While there is no perfect security, don’t make it easy for them. Make sure you follow all the security guidelines and keep up with them. Outline them in your policy and ensure your team knows how to follow such guidelines.

II. Revise your office space and configure it to meet your clearly defined goals

It goes without saying – but do you need a large office if employees only come a few days a week, perhaps even a few days a month? Probably not. So how do you make the most of your physical office space? You should explore the reasons why you wanted to have a hybrid office in the first place.

Life balance for employees? Social interactions? Robust security? Super-charged productivity? Reduced costs for your company? Why is this important? It will define how you set up your office space. That’s how many partially remote businesses are configuring their workspace.

For instance, Base Camp’s office is structured more as a meeting place than the traditional office setup. In an interview with FastCompany, Base Camps’CEO Jason Fried said that he designed his company’s office to simulate what it would be like if nobody was actually at the office.

“If you’re at home in a second bedroom or no one’s around during the day, you’re not distracted. You’re in an environment you can control for the most part, and you work in isolation and get into deep work and [aren’t] bothered by other people. We wanted to create an office space to simulate the advantages of that, but also give an opportunity for people to get together in a sound-controlled environment.”
– Jason Fried, CEO at Basecamp.

So what does this mean for you? If your goals for setting up an office are the reasons we mentioned above, then you need to configure your office to promote collaboration, boost productivity, and security. This means the traditional side by side cubicle design is probably not going to make sense. You might want to opt-in for rotating desks, investing in more socially interactive spaces for employees to mingle and collaborate. Maybe that would mean replacing the coffee room with a lounge room?

And, if the office is used as a brand signal for impressing potential customers, perhaps you should invest in a state of the art conference room. Furthermore, if the office will be more empty than full, maybe you don’t need as many meeting rooms? Also, If you plan to use your office to host a quarterly social, perhaps you should invest in building an amazing social space where your team can socialize quarterly. And obviously, you need to consider a design that will meet the highest sanitary regulations to protect your organization in situations like the current COVID19 pandemic.

These are just a few areas to explore. The bottom line is that you need to define what you are trying to accomplish and design your space accordingly.

III. Invest in the right tools and technology to efficiently support your hybrid team

What are the tools you need in place to allow your team to work remotely, productively, and securely? Should you buy remote computers and office computers for employees? Should you duplicate licenses for software used by your team so that they can use them both in the office or anywhere else they will be working from? These are the tools you need.

1. For Remote Access —> BYOD + Splashshtop Remote Access

BYOD + REMOTE ACCESS = The perfect blend of technology to enable a hybrid workforce

For a long time, the traditional way of working remotely has been through a company’s VPN Network. This has been proven to not be optimal and scalable for enabling a remote workforce: VPN is costly so hard to scale and with unreliable performance.  It has become obvious that remote access is the better and most optimal way to enable a hybrid workforce. Here is how it works.

  1. remote accessRemote Access enables users to access work computers through any personal Windows or Mac computers or even iOS or Android mobile devices. This allows companies to leverage personal devices already available to employees ( laptops, tablets, smartphones).  This set up has been trending for a while. It is called the BYOD – A Bring Your Own Device (BYOD) policy allows employees to access work-related networks or systems using their personal devices, such as laptops, smartphones, and tablets. With Remote Access and BYOD, there is no need to invest in duplicated devices or software licenses because when employees use remote access, they can connect to their on-premise computer and use it as if they were sitting in front of it.

What to look for when choosing a remote access solution –> Reliability, Security, Cost, and Ease of Use

While there are many remote access tools out there, most of them are either bulky, overpriced, or not secure enough. That’s where Splashtop delivers. Splashtop is the best-value remote access solution of the market – with prices often 80% lower than the competition and enterprise-level security and features like 4K streaming for all remote sessions. You can find out more about Splashtop and our remote access solutions here as well as try them for free without any commitment or credit card required.

With that being said, here is what you should look for in any remote access solution, whether it is Splashtop or another one:

  • Single sign-on (SSO) capability, to ensure employee passwords meet compliance and security requirements
  • Device authentication; most VPNs do not have this capability
  • Multi-factor authentication
  • Support for BYOD (bring your own device) rather than requiring remote users to use company-issued devices to ensure security
  • Click-and-connect capability, as opposed to the painful setup, long times to connect, and often slow performance of VPN-based solutions
  • Automated infrastructure and software updates, because relying on manual updating, as is necessary with VPNs, not only exposes security risks but also causes downtime and compatibility issues
  • High-performance, low-latency solution able to support streaming HD video, thus improving user productivity
  • Fast, easy scalability for thousands of users
  • No requirement for setting up gateway hardware at each remote site
  • The ability for IT to control file transfers and remote print (i.e., disabling or enabling them)
  • Human-readable logs, session recording, and easy monitoring and reporting

2. For Project Management: ProofHub, Trello, Monday, and Workfront.

3. For Real-Time Communication: Slack, Skype, and Zoom.

4. For Collaboration: Google Drive, Microsoft Teams, and Confluence.

5. For Team monitoring & Management: Hubstaff, Officevibe, and JotForm.

You can learn more about all these tools here.

While this is a non-exhaustive list, it covers the crucial elements you should consider when setting your HYBRID OFFICE and enable your employees to work from anywhere productively. Have more questions and need help setting up your remote team? Contact us at any time. You can also get started with a free remote access trial by clicking the link below.


You Might Also Be Interested In:

WFH Post COVID 19 – No the office is not going away

2020 Splashtop Work From Home Survey

The Work-From-Home Genie Is Out of the Bottle: Now How Do You Add-in Security?