VPN的慢速是否会影响居家工作时的工作效率?

慢速的VPN影响生产力

由于发生了COVID-19疫情,许多公司几乎必须在一夜之间不得不进行虚拟化,其员工开始在家工作。很多公司为此需要移动化他们的业务连续性计划(BCP),灾难恢复计划(DR)或疫情大流行政策,并需要在短时间里建立基础架构以支持“居家办公”计划。这种基础结构的很大一部分是VPN,公司一直以来都使用VPN来实现与办公网络和计算机的远程连接。使用此旧式解决方案的公司非常了解它的弊端。进一步阅读以了解这些问题是什么,以及远程访问软件如何帮助您解决这些问题。

VPN –传统解决方案及其问题

使用VPN是公司远程访问办公网络并访问工作计算机的传统方法。现在,随着公司不得不尝试虚拟化并为所有员工提供在家办公的功能,VPN问题变得更加严重,并阻碍了正常业务。

  1. 在BYOD为大趋势的时代,员工被迫使用办公计算机
    VPN的建立方式,来自受感染设备的连接可能会感染办公计算机和资产的整个网络。这就是为什么雇主坚持通过公司发行的设备进行连接,并需要确保所有设备都受到恶意软件的保护以最大程度地降低风险的原因。由于越来越多的员工更喜欢使用个人设备进行工作(自备设备),因此很难执行和维护。
  2. 多名员工连接时,性能会下降
    如果VPN网关上的负载很高,即许多员工同时通过VPN连接,则性能会下降并产生延迟。然后,公司必须寻找替代方式来卸载VPN,以使员工能够正常工作。
  3. 安全隐患
    即使公司要求使用公司配发和受保护的设备,也不能确保受感染的设备不会访问其网络。如果发生这种情况,受感染的设备可能会感染整个公司的网络和资产。
  4. 不容易设置和使用
    在这种情况下,当员工在家中工作并通过VPN进行连接的人数激增时,公司需要不断调整基础架构部署以适应数量增加的连接。这意味着购买、配置和设置其他VPN网关。这很快就变得乏味而昂贵。

    此外,让员工使用VPN也不容易。它涉及多个步骤,并记住不同应用程序的多个登录名。再加上连接速度慢,延迟高和性能低下,您的员工会感到不高兴并降低生产力。

  5. 不适合在家中长期工作
    VPN对于员工快速连接到办公室计算机并完成任务可能是有效的。但是,在居家办公这种长时间工作任务中,它可能工作得不那么好。当员工完全在家工作时,即使他们执行个人任务,他们也始终保持与VPN的连接。这甚至会使VPN过载,并且无法有效利用公司带宽。
  6. 需要其他应用程序进行远程控制
    使用VPN访问办公网络时,员工需要连接到另一个应用程序(例如RDP)以远程访问其计算机。这使得公司维护以及员工连接变得复杂。

Splashtop –出色的VPN替代方案

如上所述,VPN是用于远程连接到办公室网络的传统解决方案,并且不能满足当今员工的技术趋势和远程访问需求。类似Splashtop这样的多功能的远程访问工具可以更好地满足需求。为什么这样?

  1. Splashtop 使用户能够通过任何个人 Windows 或 Mac 计算机甚至 iOS 或 Android 移动设备访问工作计算机。它支持 BYOD 在工作场景中的增长趋势
  2. Splashtop使用快速的高性能技术 ,使您就像坐在远程计算机前一样访问远程计算机,而不会出现滞后或连接问题。
  3. 通过带有AES 256位加密的TLS 1.2,设备身份验证,两因素身份验证,多级密码安全性和许多其他安全功能,Splashtop 提供了安全的远程连接 。此外,员工无需访问整个网络即可访问其办公计算机,从而消除了承受其他办公资产的风险
  4. 与VPN不同,能够快速增加居家办公员工的数量。在工作计算机上大规模部署Splashtop代理程序很容易,然后员工可以通过一键从任何设备通过Splashtop应用访问它们。此外,通过与Active Directory或单点登录的集成,员工可以通过一个密码进行连接。它非常容易设置和使用,并且更具成本效益
  5. Splashtop是企业长期居家办公的解决方案,也是临时远程处理需求的绝佳解决方案。员工可以维持与工作计算机的远程连接,以及使用个人设备进行个人工作,而无需像通过 VPN 连接时加载公司网络带宽。
  6. 您不仅可以使用Splashtop完全控制您的远程桌面计算机,而且还可以获得其他功能,例如会话记录、远程打印、共享桌面、日志审计等。

您是否在VPN上使用RDP?您可以阅读有关RDP / VPN和Splashtop之间的区别的更多信息

Splashtop以最优惠的价格提供更好的功能!为了支持组织虚拟化并帮助员工居家办公时提高工作效率, Splashtop推出了批量许可证折扣

立即开始免费试用,并亲自体验差异。

图片来自energepic.com,来自Pexels

Is a Slow VPN Impacting Productivity While Working from Home?

Slow VPN Impacting Productivity

Due to the COVID-19 outbreak, a lot of companies have had to virtualize almost overnight, with their employees starting to work from home. Companies have mobilized their business continuity plans, disaster recovery plans or pandemic policies and are hurrying to build the infrastructure to support the work-from-home initiative. A big part of this infrastructure is VPN that companies have been historically using for remote connectivity to office network and computers. Companies who use this legacy solution know all too well the issues that come with it. Read further to learn what these issues are and how a remote access software can help you overcome them.

VPN – the legacy solution and its problems

Using VPN has been the legacy way for companies to remote into the office network and access work computers. Now, as companies are frantically trying to virtualize and enable work from home for all employees, the issues with VPN are magnified and are hindering business as usual.

  1. In this BYOD world, employees are forced to use office computers
    The way VPN is set-up, a connection from a compromised device could infect the entire network of office computers and assets. That’s why employers insist on connecting through company-issued devices and need to ensure all devices are protected against malware to minimize risk exposure. This is hard to execute and maintain since an increasing number of employees prefer to use personal devices for work (Bring Your Own Device).
  2. When several employees are connected, performance deteriorates
    If there’s a high load on the VPN gateway, i.e. many employees connected via VPN simultaneously, the performance deteriorates and creates a lag. Companies then have to look for alternate ways to offload VPN for employees to be able to work without disruption.
  3. It’s a security risk
    Even though companies mandate the use of company-issued and protected devices, they cannot ensure that a compromised device is not accessing their network. If that happens, a compromised device can infect the whole company network and assets on it.
  4. Not easy to set-up and use
    In cases like these when there’s an unusual surge of employees working from home and connecting through VPN, companies need to deploy infrastructure on the go to accommodate the increased number of connections. That means buying, configuring and setting up additional VPN gateways. That turns tedious and expensive very fast.

    Additionally, for employees to use VPN is not easy either. It involves multiple steps and remembering multiple logins for different apps. Combine that with poor connection rates, high latency, and slow performance, you have unhappy and unproductive employees.

  5. Not suited for longer-term work from home
    VPN might be efficient for employees to quickly connect to the office computer and complete a task. But it might not work as well as a long-term work from home solution, as is the need of this hour. When employees work from home entirely, they remain connected to VPN all the time, even when they do personal tasks. That overloads the VPN even more, and it’s not efficient use of company bandwidth.
  6. Require an additional app for remote control
    While using VPN to access office network, employees need to connect to another app like RDP to remotely access their computers. This makes it complex for the company to maintain as well as for the employee to connect.

Splashtop – a superior VPN alternative

As mentioned above, VPN is a legacy solution for remotely connecting to the office network, and is not able to address technology trends and remote access needs of employees today. Sophisticated remote access tools like Splashtop serve the need much better. Why so?

  1. Splashtop enables users to access work computers through any personal Windows or Mac computers or even iOS or Android mobile devices. It supports the growing trend of BYOD at the workplace.
  2. Splashtop uses fast, high-performance technology that lets you access the remote computers as if you are sitting in front of it, without a lag or connectivity issues.
  3. With TLS 1.2 with AES 256-bit encryption, device authentication, two-factor authentication, multi-level password security and many more security features, Splashtop provides a secure remote connection. Moreover, employees access their office computers without accessing the entire network, and thereby eliminates risk exposure to other office assets.
  4. Unlike VPN, it’s easy to scale up for a sudden increase in employees working from home. It is easy to mass deploy Splashtop agents on the work computers, and then employees can access them through the Splashtop app from any device, through one click. Additionally, through integration with Active Directory or Single Sign-On, employees can connect through one password. It is very easy to set-up and use and is much more cost-effective.
  5. Splashtop is a great solution for long-term work from home situations just as well as adhoc remoting needs. Employees can maintain a remote connection to their work computer as well as do their personal work with their personal device, without loading the corporate network bandwidth as is while connected through VPN.
  6. You can not only completely control your remote desktop computer with Splashtop but you also get additional features like session-recording, remote print, share desktop, maintain an audit trail and so on.

Do you use RDP over VPN? You can read more about the differences between RDP/VPN and Splashtop.

Splashtop offers better features at the best price! To support organizations virtualize and help employees be productive while working from home, Splashtop has introduced discounts for bulk licenses.

Begin a free trial today, and see the difference for yourself.

Photo by energepic.com from Pexels