Mark Lee:Splashtop 成为独角兽

Splashtop 独角兽

Splashtop 如何成为最新的 10 亿美元估值技术独角兽

首席布道官 Mark Lee

Splashtop 刚刚完成了由我们的长期投资者 Sapphire Ventures 领投的 5000 万美元的新融资,这使我们的估值超过了 10 亿美元!

通往独角兽的旅程并非一帆风顺。我们使用不同的产品和商业模式多次曲折地改变我们的业务。但是,一个共同的主题是,我们始终致力于创新并带来一流的产品和服务,以使我们的客户满意。

有很多方法可以讲述 Splashtop 的故事。这里有几个。

Splashtop 利用一些关键的技术创新和市场洞察力建立了一个敏捷、响应迅速、坚实的公司。

Splashtop 故事的时间顺序概述:

  • Splashtop 始于 2006 年,名称为 DeviceVM,因为我们当中的大多数人都对 Windows 在 PC 上启动所需的时间感到沮丧,并且由于我们安装了更多应用程序和驱动程序而使 Windows 变得越来越慢(被称为“Windows Rot”)。因此,我们设计并销售了业界第一个浏览器操作系统(OS),这是一种安全的即时浏览器操作系统,可让用户在不到 5 秒钟的时间内上网。
  • 该操作系统产品名为 Splashtop,它结合了 BIOS “splash” 屏幕(在操作系统启动之前启动)和“desktop”一词的“top”。后来,Splashtop 成为了公司的名称。
  • 我们的即时浏览器操作系统非常受欢迎,从 2007 年至 2011 年,已在超过 3 亿台 PC 和上网本上运行,包括华硕(Express Gate)、宏碁(Instant View)、惠普(QuickWeb)、戴尔(Latitude ON)、联想(Quick Start),LG(Smart On),Sony(VAIO Quick Web Access)等。
  • 随着基于 Linux 的浏览器操作系统的兴起,Microsoft 推出了针对上网本的低成本 Windows 7 Starter,并采取了其他应对 PC OEM 厂商 Linux 泛滥的商业策略,以此作为反击。新引入的 Windows 7 开始从闪存芯片启动,并在快速启动方面利用了 Splashtop 专利技术。Google 还从我们的即时浏览器操作系统中学到了很多东西,并在创新四年后的 2011 年推出了 Chromebook。
  • 随着 iPhone、iPad 和 Android 移动设备的出现,我们意识到我们需要建立一个新的方向,以桥接 PC 和移动世界,同时利用我们的核心专业知识来交付高性能软件,以使用户满意。
  • 我们推出了适用于 iPhone 和 iPad 的 Splashtop 远程桌面,重新定义了远程访问体验:高性能、零延迟、能够以 30 fps(每秒帧)的速度发送 1080P 视频。
  • 在 2011 年 5 月和 2011 年 6 月,Splashtop 远程桌面击败了《愤怒的小鸟》,成为 Apple AppStore 上排名第一的付费 iPad 应用,我们的产品赢得了许多行业奖项。
  • 在 2012 年 CES 上,NVIDIA 首席执行官 Jensen Huang 在 CES 的主要舞台上展示了 Splashtop Remote Desktop 以实现远程游戏。一位专业游戏玩家使用支持 NVIDIA Tegra 的平板电脑远程访问了支持 NVIDIA GeForce 的游戏 PC,以 60fps 的速度传输 1080p 游戏,通过 Wi-Fi 延迟不到 30ms。这是 NVIDIA Shield、Google Stadia 和其他公司发起的远程游戏浪潮的前兆。
  • 在过去的十年中,Splashtop 成为了全球领先的提供商,它使人们能够随时随地通过任何设备轻松、安全、可靠且负担得起地远程访问工作、学习、娱乐和 IT 支持所需的计算资源。

由于新冠肺炎大流行,Splashtop从重要变成了必不可少。

新冠肺炎大流行对限制了人们的活动和聚会,触发了向远程工作和远程学习的迅速而戏剧性的转变。根据 451 Research 的调查,在 2020 年之前,只有 13% 的员工完全在远程工作。到 2020 年 5 月,65% 的企业建立了广泛的在家工作政策。

对于许多员工、学生、讲师、研究人员、IT 支持人员以及其他人员来说,这种转变意味着寻找远程访问关键软件和计算资源的方法。这种转变导致对 Splashtop 解决方案的需求急剧增加。

Splashtop 如何在大流行期间使活动保持正常运行的一些最新示例:

  • 北美高等教育机构和 K-12 学校的教职员工和学生可以使用校园计算机实验室资源,包括专业领域所需要的复杂软件,比如建筑、音乐、剧院设计、化学、美术、通讯、生物,服装设计以及职业和技术教育(CTE)。他们使用 Adobe Creative Suite、AutoCAD、Revit、Avid Pro Tools 以及一系列附加的 3D 设计和建模、动画、视频编辑、音乐制作和其他应用程序。
  • 新闻气象学家无需进入电视演播室就可以远程广播新闻和天气预报。
  • 好莱坞制片人和南加州大学电影学院教授使用 iPhone 和 Splashtop 远程访问软件远程录制电影。
  • 临床研究中心代表领先的制药公司对新冠肺炎疫苗和其他药物进行远程研究。

Splashtop 奉行既重视增长又注重盈利的业务战略。

在投资世界中,“ 40 规则”是评估软件公司投资前景的一种方法。如果收入增长和利润率的总和等于或超过40,则该公司被视为潜在的健康投资。

Splashtop 的增长率为 160% ,利润为 60% - 总计 220。这是 40 规则的 5 倍以上!自 2015 年以来我们就一直盈利,因此这并不是近期的动态发展。

达到规则的 200+ 确实使我们在达到独角兽地位的公司中脱颖而出。我们为走这条路感到自豪,因为这对我们的长期业务健康而言是个好兆头。

当我们谈到核心价值时,Splashtop 畅所欲言。

如果我用一句话来总结 Splashtop 的核心价值,那就是:在全球范围内使我们的客户高兴。

将其分解为更多细节,我们相信:

  • 客户满意度。我们的 93 净促销值评分 (NPS:评估客户满意度的标准),是业内最佳的。
  • 将 Splashtop 与我们的任何竞争对手进行比较,您将立即看到差异。我们以合理的价格提供一流的解决方案。
  • 安全性、可靠性和合规性。我们的客户信任我们,以确保其敏感和私人信息的安全。我们拥有 10 多年的经验,在亿万次会话中为超过 3000 万用户提供了高性能的远程访问和远程支持解决方案。我们遵守包括 GDPR、HIPAA、SOC2 和 PCI 在内的最新安全标准和法规,并且我们最近组建了由广泛专家组成的安全咨询委员会,以帮助指导我们实现更加严格的安全和合规性目标。
  • 没有隐藏的购买条件。我们正在交付的产品或价格非常透明:我们保持一致、稳定的价格结构,不会逐年增加。并且,如果世界上的某些事情导致我们改变了业务的任何方面,我们都会清晰、诚实、及时地进行沟通。
  • 高性能的用户体验。对于我们来说,性能远远不只是数据表上的速度值。我们产品的性能直接转化为客户实现工作、学校或娱乐目标的能力。我们以高性能为基础来构建我们的产品,并且我们将继续创新以不断改进我们的性能指标。

Splashtop 将我们的成功归功于客户。

我们要对我们的客户表示诚挚的感谢!我们很高兴收到您的来信,我们依靠您的反馈意见,以便我们能够不断改进我们的产品和服务。由于客户的福音和支持,我们得以快速增长并实现盈利。

在我们前进的过程中,人们普遍认为,即使在大流行限制结束后,在家工作和远程学习的趋势仍将继续。例如,Gartner Inc. 2020 年 12 月进行的调查发现,90% 的接受调查的公司负责人打算至少在某些时间允许远程工作,即使在有新冠肺炎疫苗可用后。65% 的报告显示,他们将继续在员工的工作地点、时间和方式方面提供更大的灵活性。

这些预测使我们充满信心,Splashtop 将在未来很长的时间里继续蓬勃发展。

对于由四个大学时代的朋友共同创立的公司来说,这还不错 — 30 年后,他们仍然一起在 Splashtop,并且仍然是好朋友。

Splashtop 首席执行官兼首席传教官 Mark Lee 

Mark Lee


您可能会感兴趣:

Splashtop 揭秘独角兽成功的秘诀 – 与 Storm Ventures 的 Ryan Floyd 进行问答

Splashtop 宣布获得 5000 万美元的新投资,实现 10 亿美元估值

Splashtop 在其实现 10 亿美元估值的路上发布了重要的里程碑

博客底部的免费试用横幅

Mark Lee on Splashtop Achieving Unicorn Status

Splashtop Unicorn

How Splashtop Became the Latest $1 Billion Valuation Tech Unicorn

By Mark Lee, Chief Evangelist

Splashtop has just closed $50 million in new funding, led by our long-time investor Sapphire Ventures, which pushes our valuation to over $1 billion!

The journey to unicorn has not been a straight, smooth upward line; we zigzagged and transformed our business multiple times with different products and business models. However, a common theme is that we consistently aim to innovate and bring best-in-class products and services to delight our customers.

There are many ways to tell the Splashtop story. Here are a few of them.

Splashtop used some key technology innovations and market insights to build an agile, responsive, solid company.

A chronological outline of the Splashtop story:

  • Splashtop began—in 2006, with the name DeviceVM—because a bunch of us were frustrated by how long Windows took to boot on our PCs, and by how Windows had become slower and slower as we installed more applications and drivers (known as “Windows Rot”). So we designed and sold the industry’s first browser operating system (OS), a secure, instant-on browser OS that allowed users to get online in less than 5 seconds.
  • That OS product was named Splashtop, which combined the term for the BIOS ‘splash’ screen, which boots before the operating system boots, and the ‘top’ of the word desktop. Later, Splashtop became the company name.
  • Our instant-on browser OS was very popular, shipping from 2007-2011 on over 300 million PCs and netbooks from major OEMs including ASUS (Express Gate), Acer (Instant View), HP (QuickWeb), Dell (Latitude ON), Lenovo (Quick Start), LG (Smart On), Sony (VAIO Quick Web Access), and others.
  • As our Linux-based browser OS took off, Microsoft countered by introducing the low-cost Windows 7 Starter for netbooks, coupled with other business tactics to fight off Linux proliferation at PC OEMs. Newly introduced Windows 7 began to boot from a flash chip and leveraged Splashtop-patented techniques around fast-boot. Google also learned much from our instant-on browser OS and launched Chromebook in 2011, four years after our innovation.
  • As iPhone, iPad, and Android mobile devices emerged, we realized we needed to forge a new direction that would bridge the PC and mobile worlds while leveraging our core expertise in delivering high-performance software to delight our users.
  • We introduced Splashtop Remote Desktop for iPhone and iPad, redefining the remote access experience: high performance with zero lag, capable of delivering 1080P video at 30 fps (frames per second).
  • In May and June 2011, Splashtop Remote Desktop beat Angry Birds as the #1 paid iPad app on the Apple AppStore, and our product won many industry awards.
  • At the 2012 CES, NVIDIA CEO Jensen Huang showcased, on the main CES stage, Splashtop Remote Desktop to enable remote gaming; and a professional gamer used an NVIDIA Tegra-powered tablet to remote into an NVIDIA GeForce-powered gaming PC, streaming 1080p game at 60fps with sub-30ms latency over Wi-Fi. This was the precursor to the remote gaming wave initiated by NVIDIA Shield, Google Stadia, and others.
  • Over the past decade, Splashtop has become a worldwide leader in enabling easy, secure, reliable, and affordable remote access to the computing resources needed for work, learning, play, and IT support—anywhere, anytime, from any device.

Splashtop went from important to essential as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The COVID-19 pandemic’s restrictions on people’s movements and gatherings triggered a rapid, dramatic shift to remote work and distance learning. Before 2020, according to 451 Research, only 13% of employees worked entirely remotely. By May 2020, 65% of businesses had established widespread work-from-home policies.

For many employees, students, instructors, researchers, IT support personnel, and others, this shift meant finding ways to remotely access crucial software applications and computing resources. And that shift led to a huge increase in demand for Splashtop solutions.

Some recent examples of how Splashtop helped keep activities running during the pandemic:

  • Faculty and students at higher education institutions and K-12 schools across North America gained access to on-campus computer lab resources, including sophisticated software applications needed for courses in areas as diverse as architecture, music, theatre design, chemistry, fine arts, communication studies, biology, fashion design, and career and technical education (CTE). They used Adobe Creative Suite, AutoCAD, Revit, Avid Pro Tools, and a full range of additional 3D design and modeling, animation, video editing, music production, and other applications.
  • A news meteorologist remotely broadcast his news and weather reports without stepping into the TV studio.
  • A Hollywood producer and USC film school professor recorded film remotely using an iPhone and Splashtop remote access software.
  • Clinical research centers performed remote research for COVID-19 vaccines and other pharmaceutical products on behalf of leading pharmaceutical companies.

Splashtop has pursued a business strategy that values both growth and profitability.

In the investment world, the Rule of 40 is a way to evaluate the investment prospects of software companies. If the sum of revenue growth and profit margin equals or exceeds 40, the company is deemed a potentially healthy investment.

Splashtop has a growth rate of 160% and profits of 60%—for a total of 220. That’s more than 5X the Rule of 40! And we’ve been profitable since 2015, so this isn’t some flash-in-the-pan recent development.

Achieving a Rule of 200+ really sets us apart among companies reaching unicorn status. We’re proud that we’ve pursued this path, because it bodes well for our long-term business health.

Splashtop walks our talk when it comes to our core values.

If I were to sum up Splashtop’s core value in one sentence, it would be: Delighting our customers, globally.

Breaking that down into a few more specifics, we believe in:

  • Customer satisfaction. Our 93 Net Promoter Score (NPS), a standard for assessing customer satisfaction, is the best in the industry.
  • Compare Splashtop to any of our competitors, and you’ll see the difference immediately. We offer best-in-class solutions at reasonable prices.
  • Security, reliability, and compliance. Our customers trust us to keep their sensitive and private information secure. We have more than 10 years’ experience delivering high-performance remote access and remote support solutions to more than 30 million users in hundreds of millions of sessions. We comply with the latest security standards and regulations, including GDPR, HIPAA, SOC2, and PCI, and we recently assembled a Security Advisory Council of wide-ranging experts to help guide us toward achieving our ever-more-rigorous security and compliance goals.
  • No hidden purchase conditions. No surprises in what we’re delivering or how much it costs: We maintain a consistent, stable pricing structure without annual increases. And if something in the world causes us to change any aspect of our business, we communicate it clearly, honestly, and promptly.
  • A high-performance user experience. For us, performance is so much more than just a speeds-and-feeds value on a datasheet. The performance of our products translates directly into our customers’ ability to achieve their goals in work, school, or entertainment. We built our products with a foundation of high performance, and we continue to innovate to keep improving our performance metrics.

Splashtop owes our success to our customers.

We want to extend a sincere thank you to our customers! We love to hear from you, and we rely on your feedback so we can continually improve our products and services. Because of our customers’ evangelism and support, we have been able to grow fast and profitably.

As we march forward, there’s a widespread belief that the work-from-home and distance-learning trends will continue even after the pandemic restrictions end. As an example, a survey by Gartner Inc. in December 2020 found that 90% of company leaders responding to the survey intend to permit remote working at least some of the time even after a COVID-19 vaccine is available, and 65% reported that they would continue offering greater flexibility in where, when, and how their employees work.

Those kinds of predictions give us confidence that Splashtop will continue to grow and thrive as a business, long into the future.

Not bad for a company co-founded by four college friends—who, 30 years later, are all still together at Splashtop. And all still friends.

by Mark Lee, CEO and Chief Evangelist at Splashtop 

Mark Lee


You Might Be Interested In:

Splashtop Secrets to Unicorn Success – A Q&A With Storm Ventures’ Ryan Floyd

Splashtop Announces $50M in New Funding, Achieving Coveted $1 Billion Valuation

Splashtop Posts Significant Milestones on its Way to $1B Valuation

Free Trial Banner on the Blog Bottom