可以用 Splashtop 监视远程工作人员吗?Q&A

居家办公人员保护个人隐私

《纽约时报》最近刊登的文章——《你的老板如何利用远程办公工具监视你》引人担忧,一些人担心 Splashtop 会成为管理人员监视员工的工具。但事实并非如此。下面的 Q&A 给出了如何保障计算机安全、保护个人隐私的原因和建议。

Q&A

可以用 Splashtop 监视远程工作人员吗?

不可以。Splashtop 是一种远程访问工具,远程工作人员可以使用该工具访问和控制其办公计算机。

他人可以利用 Splashtop 远程访问正在使用中的计算机并对其进行监视吗?

远程会话建立完成后,系统会自动弹出一个通知窗口,以让用户知道这台计算机正在接受远程访问。因此,如果其他人远程访问您正在使用的这台计算机,您将会看到一个通知窗口。许多其他远程控制解决方案不具有此安全功能。

请记住,他人访问您工作计算机的唯一方法是:1)在您所属机构的 Splashtop 帐户中拥有一个用户帐户,且 2)该帐户的管理员赋予其此台计算机的访问权限。

如果我远程访问一台工作计算机,办公室里的人可以看到我在做什么吗?

您可以通过启用黑屏功能来防止其他人看到您正在做的事情。当您访问和控制远程计算机时,该功能将“隐藏”这台远程计算机的屏幕。因此,办公室里的其他人将无法看到您的工作内容。

Splashtop 用户可以在远程会话中开启/关闭黑屏功能,并可以锁定远程计算机的键盘和鼠标,以防止他人在您工作期间擅自改动此台计算机上的内容。

Splashtop 是否监视我的网络流量?

否,Splashtop 在远程访问一台工作计算机时不会监视其网络流量。

但是,如果此台远程计算机在公司网络范围内,而您正在远程访问此台计算机以浏览互联网,那么公司仍然可以监视您的网上活动,就像您在办公室中使用计算机上网一样。因为 Splashtop 不会提供任何网络监控工具,所以公司需要使用单独的工具来实现这一目的。

如果公司已经在我的工作计算机上使用监视软件怎么办?

这篇文章指出,当您使用诸如 Splashtop 之类的远程访问软件时,“您在该应用程序窗口中做的所有事情都会呈现在办公室的计算机上。也就是说,与在真实办公室中一样,IT 部门或公司经理也可以访问该台计算机。”如果贵公司已经在工作计算机上安装了 ActivTrak、SentryPC 等软件来跟踪您访问的网页、安装的软件或其他活动,那么无论您现在是在办公室里,还是在家里远程访问这台计算机,这些软件都可以对此台工作计算机进行跟踪。

哪些规范可供 Splashtop 用户参照以免遭监视?

远程工作期间,您可参照如下建议以保护个人隐私:

  • 确保开启黑屏功能
  • 开启锁定键盘和鼠标功能以免在会话期间他人擅自改动
  • 确认只有您或其他获得许可的人有权远程访问您的计算机。请与您的 Splashtop 帐户管理员联系,以确保所有计算机访问权限都已更新。
  • 设置辅助验证选项(如设备验证双重验证),以防止未经授权的用户访问您帐户中的计算机。
  • 请记住,在您远程控制自己的办公计算机时,公司安装在此台办公计算机上的任何跟踪软件仍可继续使用,就像您在办公室使用这台计算机一样。

了解有关 Splashtop 的更多信息

博客底部的免费试用横幅

Can Splashtop Be Used to Spy on Remote Workers? Q&A

Person working from home protecting their privacy

A recent New York Times article titled “How Your Boss Can Use Your Remote-Work Tools to Spy on You” has led some people to worry that Splashtop can be used as a tool for managers to spy on their employees. This is not the case. The Q&A below explains and gives tips on how to keep your computers safe and protect your privacy.

Questions & Answers

Can Splashtop be used to spy on remote workers?

No. Splashtop is a remote access tool that enables remote workers to access and control their office computers.

Could someone use Splashtop to remote into my computer while I’m using it to spy on me?

When a remote session is established, a large notification will pop up letting the user know that the computer is being remotely access. So, if you are using a computer and someone else remotes into it, you will see a pop up letting you know. Many other remote control solutions do not have this security feature.

Keep in mind that the only way someone could access your work computer is if 1) they have a user account within your organization’s Splashtop account, and 2) the account administrator set their access permission to be able to access your computer.

If I’m remotely accessing a work computer, could someone in the office see what I’m doing?

You can prevent others from seeing what you’re doing by enabling the Blank Screen feature. This will “blank” the screen of the remote computer while you’re accessing and controlling it so people physically in front of the workstation are unable to watch you work.

Splashtop users are able to toggle the blank screen on/off while in a remote session, as well as the lock remote computer’s keyword and mouse to prevent tampering while you’re working on the computer.

Does Splashtop monitor my web traffic?

No, Splashtop does not monitor your web traffic while remotely accessing a work computer.

However, if the remote computer is on your company’s network while you’re remotely accessing it to browse the internet, your company can still monitor your internet activity as if you were using the office computer in person. Companies would need to do this with a separate tool as Splashtop does not provide any web monitoring tools.

What if my company is already using monitoring software on my work computer?

The article notes that when you use remote access software such as Splashtop, “everything you do within the window of that application happens on the computer in your office. This means the IT department or company managers also have the same sort of computer access they have at a physical office”. If your company has installed software on your work computer such as ActivTrak or SentryPC to track the web pages you visit, software you install, or other activity, then that tracking on your work computer will happen regardless of whether you are sitting in front of it in the office or remoting into it from home.

What are some best practices Splashtop users can follow to prevent from being spied on?

Here are some tips you can follow to protect your privacy while working remotely:

  • Ensure Blank Screen is enabled
  • Enable the lock keyboard and mouse features to prevent tampering by others during a session
  • Verify that only you and/or others with clearance have permission to remotely access your computers. Check with your Splashtop account administrators to ensure that access permissions for all computers are updated.
  • Set secondary authentication options, such as device authentication and two-factor verification to prevent unauthorized users from remoting into your computers under your account.
  • Remember that if you’re remotely controlling your office computer, any software your company uses to track your activity on your office computer can still be used, just as if you were using the work computer in-person.

Learn more about Splashtop

Free Trial Banner on the Blog Bottom