在家工作与工作的未来(更新)

肺炎期间在家工作

我们现在应该并且应该永远在家工作吗?工作的未来是什么?

几个月前,我们问首席执行官们对工作的未来的想法——他们的答案是一致的:尽管办公室并没有消失,但他们都认可世界正在朝着一个永久性的混合工作场所迈进。

尽管如此,许多企业还是不愿采取这种措施。有些甚至建议不要这样做。在史蒂夫·乔布斯(Steve Jobs)的领导下,苹果公司被公认为在家办公(WFH)的好处方面是企业界的主要怀疑者之一。现在,在大流行的几个月后,不到15%的苹果员工回到了办公室,首席执行官蒂姆·库克(Tim Cook)说,该公司不会“回到过去的样子,因为我们发现确实有一些事情实际上工作得很好。”

像苹果公司一样,许多企业长期不愿执行广泛的WFH政策。对于许多经理而言,在看到人们在工作与相信自己的生产力之间的可感知联系一直很牢固。例如,Netflix首席执行官里德·黑斯廷斯(Reed Hastings)最近将远程工作称为“纯粹的负面评价”。

但这是正确的看法吗?大概不是-至少在新冠肺炎开始关闭办公室、商店、教育机构和医疗办公室几个月后,回答我们的公司WFH生产率调查的近900名远程通勤者看来,并不是这样。

关键在于技术的正确平衡

在大流行之前,将近四分之三的受访者从未或很少在家里工作过。然而,绝大多数的80%包括IT专业人员,游戏开发人员,视频制作人,建筑师,电视广播专业人员,零售商,中等教育和大学教育者以及医疗保健专业人员)报告说,在家工作时生产率更高或相当。

根据WFH调查的75% 受访者表示,协作和通讯工具(例如Zoom)和远程访问软件(例如Splashtop)极大地提高了生产率。

结果,三分之一的受访者表示,即使大流行的限制有所减轻,他们也希望自己的公司对在家办公更开放。 28%名参与者实际上暗示,在家工作可能永久性地成为其公司的新常态。支持这一预测的是来自Microsoft,HubSpot,Quora,Square,Slack和Okta等企业的最新公告,这些公司计划“永远”扩展其在家工作的选择。

这对您意味着WFH超出大流行?

在许多报告中提到的生产力提高中,还有许多其他原因为更远程的工作铺平了道路:

  • 为员工提供更高的生活质量–在家工作的替代方案可以帮助公司招募和留住员工,以取得长期成功。如果不受严格的地理位置限制,公司可以扩大潜在的空缺职位候选人的范围。相应的,潜在的雇员可以选择在家中,远离高成本的沿海城市工作,从而看到生活质量的吸引力。对于那些确实喜欢住在城市中心及其周围的人来说,可以减少或消除每天的长途通勤。
  • 较低的资本投资–公司可以重新评估其房地产支出。更多的在家工作的员工(全职或兼职)可以使公司减少为支持所有工人而必须租用或拥有的办公场所的面积。
  • 碳足迹–碳足迹由一个人一年中排放的CO2音调数量表示。根据《保护地球行动》(Action Protect Earth)的数据,美国人均拥有最大的碳足迹,人均碳足迹为16.5吨。相反,在欧盟,这一平均值为7吨。现在,想象所有企业全部或部分处于远程状态。这将减少每位在家工作的雇员的排放量,印刷纸用量和塑料用量。结果,由于远程工作人员每天都不开车上下班,极大地改变了消费,浪费和污染的规模。

新冠肺炎大流行及其广泛的就地庇护要求迫使人们突然大量采用在家工作。由于担心生产力下降或其他问题,一些以前拒绝让员工在家工作的想法的公司发现,远程工作的灵活性不仅可以带来实实在在的利益,不仅可以增加利润,而且可以对我们的环境产生积极影响。这证实了我们几个月前所做的假设:远程工作将永远存在。因此,如果您还没有开始,可能是时候开始考虑将 灵活的方法应用于您的工作场所


您可能会感兴趣:

未来是混合的-这就是您可以为之做准备的方式

WFH邮政COVID 19 –没有办公室不消失

居家办公的时代开启了:现在您如何确保安全性?

博客底部的免费试用横幅

Working-from-home and the Future of Work ( An Update )

work from home post covid

Are we and should we be “forever” working from home? What is the future of work?

A few months ago, we asked CEOs their thoughts on the future of work- their answers were unanimous: while the office is not going away, they all agreed that the world was moving towards a permanent hybrid workplace.

Still, many businesses are reticent to take the leap. Some are even advising against it. Apple—under Steve Jobs—had been considered one of the corporate world’s leading skeptics on the benefits of working from home (WFH). Now, months into the pandemic, less than 15% of the Apple workforce is back in the office, and CEO Tim Cook says the company will not “return to the way we were because we’ve found that there are some things that actually work really well virtually.”

Like Apple, many enterprises have long been reticent to implement widespread WFH policies. For lots of managers, the perceived link between seeing that people are working, and believing in their productivity, has remained strong. Netflix CEO Reed Hastings, for example, recently called remote work “a pure negative.”

But is that an accurate perception? Probably not—at least, not according to the nearly 900 sudden telecommuters who answered our company’s WFH productivity survey several months after COVID-19 started closing offices, shops, educational institutions, and medical offices.

The key resides in the right balance of technology

Nearly three-quarters of our survey respondents had never, or rarely, worked from home before the pandemic. Yet, an overwhelming 80%—including IT professionals, game developers, video producers, architects, TV broadcasting professionals, retailers, Secondary education and college educators, and healthcare professionals—reported being more, or equally, productive when working from home.

According to 75% of the WFH survey respondents, collaboration, and communication tools like Zoom and remote-access software such as Splashtop, greatly contributed to increasing productivity.

As a result, a third of our survey respondents said they expected that their companies might be more open to working from home, even after the pandemic’s restrictions abate. 28% of participants actually suggested that working from home could become the new normal for their companies, permanently. Supporting this prediction are recent announcements from enterprises—like Microsoft, HubSpot, Quora, Square, Slack, and Okta—that plan to extend their work-from-home options “forever”.

What this means for you – WFH beyond the pandemic?

Among the many reported productivity boost, many other reasons are paving the way to more remote working:

  • Better Quality of Life for Employees – Work-from-home alternatives may help companies recruit and retain their employees for long-term success. Companies can widen the range of potential candidates for open positions if they’re not strictly bound by geographic constraints. And conversely, potential employees with the option of working from home, away from high-cost coastal cities, see a quality-of-life attraction. For those who do prefer to live in and around urban centers, long daily commutes can be reduced or eliminated.
  • Lower Capital Investment – Companies can reevaluate their real estate expenditures. More employees working from home, full or part-time, could allow companies to reduce the square footage of office space they must rent or own to support all their workers.
  • Carbon Footprint – A carbon footprint is expressed by the number of tones of CO2 emitted by a person over the year. According to Action Protect Earth, Americans have some of the largest carbon footprints per person, with the average per American being 16.5 tonnes. In contrast, in the EU, this average is 7 tonnes. Now imagine all businesses going fully or partially remote. This will result in fewer emissions, less printed paper usage, and less plastic usage for each employee working from home. As a result, by not driving to and from work every day, remote workers are dramatically shifting the scales of consumption, waste, and pollution.

The COVID-19 pandemic and its widespread shelter-in-place requirements have forced sudden, mass adoption of work-from-home capabilities. Some companies that previously resisted the idea of having employees work from home, due to worries about productivity drops or other concerns, are finding that the flexibility of remote work can offer tangible benefits not just for increasing profits but also making a positive impact on our environment. This confirms the assumption we made a few months ago: remote work is here to stay – Forever. So if you have not already, it’s probably time to start thinking about a flexible approach to your workplace.


You Might Be Interested In:

The Future Is Hybrid – Here Is How You Can Prepare for It

WFH Post COVID 19 – No the office is not going away

The Work-From-Home Genie Is Out of the Bottle: Now How Do You Add-in Security?

Free Trial Banner on the Blog Bottom