Laney College的学生远程访问计算机实验室

学生可以在自己的设备上使用实验室计算机软件

摘要

兰尼学院(Laney College)的职业和技术教育部门设有数个计算机实验室,为学生提供他们在学术课程中使用的高性能软件。当新冠肺炎导致校园关闭时,兰尼学院需要一种新的方式来使学生访问这些软件应用程序。

兰尼学院找到了Splashtop,使学生能够从自己的设备(甚至是Chromebook) 远程访问实验室计算机 。到目前为止,学生和教师对结果都很满意。

挑战:学生无法在家中使用计算机

兰尼学院的CTE设有各种部门,包括图形艺术,数字数据控制,建筑,施工管理,机器技术,木材技术等。这些部门中的每个部门都向学生和教授提供当前在各自领域中的专业人员正在使用的相同软件应用程序。

学生使用的软件包括Adobe创新工具(例如Photoshop),流行的建筑应用程序(包括AutoCAD和Revit)以及其他3D设计和建模工具(例如SketchUp,Rhino和SolidWorks)。

这些应用程序中的许多都需要功能强大的台式计算机才能运行,这就是为什么兰尼学院在校园内提供多个可供学生使用的计算机实验室的原因。

但是,当新冠肺炎导致校园关闭时,学生无法访问实验室计算机。

CTE的IT部门工作人员Gerald Casey解释说:“学生需要使用该软件。” “某些软件应用程序具有学生版,可以在计算机上运行。那很棒。但是有些学生的计算机功能不足以运行该软件。然后某些应用程序根本就没有学生版。学生必须使用该软件才能继续学习,这就是Splashtop的用武之地。”

兰尼学院需要快速找到一种解决方案,以在校园关闭的情况下继续为学生提供所需软件的访问权限。

解决方案:让学生从自己的设备远程访问实验室计算机

凯西没有时间了。学生需要在学期中期就尽快访问实验室计算机。

凯西说:“我什至没有看过VPN,因为我知道它们太麻烦了,我们需要做得很快。我开始谷歌搜索,Splashtop出现了。我测试了它,效果很好。我什至没有尝试其他任何产品。”

除了易于部署和扩展之外,Casey选择Splashtop,还因为它具有行业领先的安全性。

“ Splashtop的安全级别给我留下了深刻的印象。这让我不担心,”凯西说。

借助Splashtop,Casey使学生能够从自己的笔记本电脑,平板电脑和移动设备远程访问实验室计算机。一旦学生连接到远程计算机,他们就可以像坐在远程计算机前一样控制并使用其软件。

凭借高清质量,声音,4k流和无延迟连接,学生可以在远程会话中享受无缝体验。

无需培训学生如何使用Splashtop。这是直观且易于使用的。 Casey可以立即让学生进行设置。

结果:讲师无法相信Splashtop的效果怎么会这么好

尽管突然的改变让人措手不及,但Splashtop如何帮助兰尼学院继续提供高质量的教育给学生和教师留下了深刻的印象。鉴于许多学生正在使用Chromebook,因此他们原本并不奢望会事情如此顺利。

Casey说:“有一个州计划为学生提供计算机,因此我们一直在为他们提供Chromebook。他们无法在Chromebook上运行SolidWorks。但是Chromebook可以访问我们可以在其中运行实验室计算机的计算机。教练们喜欢它。他们不敢相信它能很好地工作,他们感到震惊,而且我认为我并没有夸大其词。”

兰尼学院现在正在为秋季学期如何使用Splashtop做准备。

凯西说:“有人告诉我,他们安排了很多需要使用Splashtop的课程,因为秋天不会有面对面的课程,”我们开设了社交课程,以便学生完成证书和学位的学习。这很重要,如果不是Splashtop的话,我们将无法让他们这样做。”

-
对于需要高性能,可访问性,易于管理和安全的远程访问工具的教育机构, Splashtop是理想的解决方案,学生和教职员工可以使用它们来访问校园内的计算机。立即开始免费试用,以增强学生的远程学习体验。

细节

关于兰尼学院的职业技术教育

兰尼学院的CTE提供程序,教学生如何使用建筑,工程,图形艺术,机器技术等领域的专业人员使用的相同软件。

兰尼学院使学生可以通过校园中的多个实验室计算机访问这些软件应用程序。现在,学生可以使用Splashtop远程访问那些实验室计算机。

关于用于远程实验室的 Splashtop

  • 学生可以从任何其他 Windows、Mac、iOS、Android 或 Chromebook 设备访问 Windows、Mac 和 Linux 计算机。
  • 通过高清质量和声音通过快速连接轻松地控制您的计算机。
  • 保持生产力的主要功能,包括拖放文件传输、远程打印、远程唤醒、远程重启、聊天等。
  • 与其他较昂贵的远程访问产品相比,选择Splashtop最多可节省80%或更多。
  • 了解更多 Splashtop 远程实验室或与我们联系以安排演示。

案例研究的PDF版本

兰尼学院远程实验室

Laney College – 使用远程桌面启用远程实验室

Students at Laney College Remotely Access Computer Labs

Students can use lab computer software while remoting in from their own devices

SUMMARY

The Career and Technical Education division at Laney College hosts several computers labs that provide students with the high-powered software they use in their academic courses. When COVID-19 shut the campus down, Laney College needed a new way to give students access to these software applications.

Laney College turned to Splashtop to enable students to remotely access lab computers from their own devices, even Chromebooks. Students and instructors have been very pleased with the results thus far.

THE CHALLENGE: STUDENTS CAN’T ACCESS COMPUTER LABS FROM HOME

The CTE division at Laney College houses departments including graphic arts, digital data controls, architecture, construction management, machine technology, wood technology, and more. Each of these departments teach students on the same software applications currently being used by professionals in their respective fields.

Software that the students are using include Adobe creative tools like Photoshop, popular architecture applications including AutoCAD and Revit, and other 3D design and modeling tools such as SketchUp, Rhino, and SolidWorks.

Many of these applications require powerful desktop computers to function, which is why Laney College provides several computer labs on campus that students are able to use.

However, when COVID-19 hit and shut down the campus, students had no way to access the lab computers.

“The students need access to this software,” explained Gerald Casey, who works in the IT department at the CTE. “Some of the software applications have student versions that they can run on their computers. That’s great. But some students have computers that aren’t powerful enough to run this software. And then some of the applications simply don’t have student versions. The students have to have access to this software to continue their studies, and that’s where Splashtop comes in.”

Laney College needed to find a solution fast to continue giving students access to the software they needed despite the campus shut down.

THE SOLUTION: GIVE STUDENTS REMOTE ACCESS TO LAB COMPUTERS FROM THEIR OWN DEVICES

Casey had no time to spare. Students needed access to the lab computers as soon as possible as they were still in the middle of their semester.

“I didn’t even look at VPN because I know them to be far too cumbersome,” Casey said, “We needed to do something very fast. I started Googling, Splashtop came up. I tested it and it worked great. I didn’t even try anybody else.”

In additional to being easy to deploy and scale, Casey also chose Splashtop because of its industry-leading security.

“I was very impressed with the level of security that Splashtop has. That made me not worry,” said Casey.

With Splashtop, Casey enabled students to be able to remotely access lab computers from their own laptops, tablets, and mobile devices. Once a student connects into a remote machine, they are able to take control and use its software as if they were sitting right in front of the remote computer.

With HD quality, sound, 4k streaming, and no laggy connections students enjoy a seamless experience while in a remote session.

There was no need to train the students on how to use Splashtop. It was intuitive and easy to use. Casey was able to get students set up in no time.

RESULTS: INSTRUCTORS CAN’T BELIEVE HOW WELL SPLASHTOP WORKS

Students and faculty were impressed by how Splashtop helped Laney College continue delivering a high quality education despite the sudden shift to being fully remote. They did not expect things to run this smoothly given that many students were using Chromebooks.

“There is a state program that provides students with computers, so we’ve been providing them with Chromebooks,” Casey said, “They can’t run SolidWorks with the Chromebooks. But the Chromebooks provide access to our computer labs where they can run it. The instructors love it. They can’t believe it works so well, they’re shocked, and I don’t think I’m overstating that.”

Laney College is now preparing for the Fall semester with Splashtop.

“I was told they’re orienting a lot of classes around Splashtop because there aren’t going to be in-person classes in the Fall,” said Casey, “We are having socially distant classes so students can complete their certificates and their degrees. This has been a big deal, we wouldn’t have been able to have them do that if it wasn’t for Splashtop.”


Splashtop is the ideal solution for educational institutions looking for a high performance, accessible, easy to manage, and secure remote access tool that students and faculty can use to access on-campus machines. Start your free trial now so you can enhance your students’ remote learning experience.

DETAILS

About Career & Technical Education at Laney College

The CTE at Laney College offers programs that teach students how to use the same software used by professionals in fields such as architecture, engineering, graphic arts, machine technology, and more.

Laney College makes those software applications accessible to their students via several computers labs on campus. And now, students are able to remotely access those lab computers with Splashtop.

About Splashtop Business Access

  • Access Windows, Mac, and Linux computers from any other Windows, Mac, iOS, Android, or Chromebook device.
  • Remote control your computers with ease over fast connections (streaming in 4k) with HD quality and sound.
  • Get the top features you need to stay productive, including drag-and-drop file transfer, remote print, remote wake, remote reboot, chat, and more.
  • Save up to 80% or more when you choose Splashtop over other more expensive remote access products.
  • Learn more about Splashtop Business Access or try it for free.