启用远程 CTE 计算机动画和游戏设计

学生远程访问实验室计算机可带来意想不到的好处

摘要

阿什维尔高中是北卡罗来纳州阿什维尔市学校区的一部分,它为职业和技术教育(CTE)学生提供对实验室计算机的远程访问,以应对关闭计算机实验室这个情况。这使得他们能够运行计算机动画和游戏美术课所需的软件。

挑战:个人计算机实验室访问因新冠肺炎流行而关闭

凯思琳·布拉德利在阿什维尔高中教计算机动画和游戏艺术课程,两名 CTE 选修课的学生可以参加。布拉德利的课程为学生以后从事电视和电影制作、广告、游戏设计、建筑等行业的做准备。

学生使用学校计算机实验室中的 Mac 工作站来运行这些课程所需的软件,其中包括 Adobe Creative Suite、Blender、Unity 和其他 3D 计算机图形、动画、视频和游戏设计应用程序。

访问这些软件程序对于 Bradley 的课堂至关重要。当学校因新冠肺炎而关闭时,学生们将无法继续访问学习所需要的软件。

“计算机实验室第一次因为新冠肺炎关闭时,情况很糟糕,”布拉德利说。

解决方案:Splashtop 使远程计算机实验室访问成为可能

阿什维尔高中需要找到一种方法来让学生访问学校提供的所需资源。他们寻求一种解决方案,使学生能够在家中通过自己的设备访问学校实验室的计算机。

阿什维尔高中决定为凯思琳·布拉德利的 CTE 课程部署 Splashtop 远程实验室。借助 Splashtop,学生可以从自己的计算机、平板电脑和 Chromebook 设备远程访问和控制实验室计算机。

在高性能的远程连接(提供 4k 流)中,学生可以实时查看实验室计算机的屏幕。他们可以远程控制它并像在实验室中一样运行任何软件应用程序。

“ Splashtop 完美地满足了我们的需求,” 布拉德利说。 “我们可以使用新冠肺炎大流行之前已经开发的课程来制作动画和游戏艺术课程的完整课程。”

远程访问增强了学生的参与度 24/7

Splashtop 对于远程实验室的意外好处是,学生现在也可以在上课时间之外访问 Mac 实验室计算机。他们可以随时随地远程访问实验室。

布拉德利说:“即使学生在凌晨2点钟在卧室里吃冷比萨饼,也可以让学生随时随地使用动画和游戏设计应用程序,这是一个巨大的优势。”

额外的访问权限使学生有更多时间使用软件应用程序,并帮助他们对自己的时间和学习承担更多责任。

她说:“要讲这种责任很难,但是事实证明,对实验室软件的更流畅的访问可以加快我们许多学生的学习过程,”

奖金:远程访问成功传播超出了最初的实施

在看到 Splashtop 软件在动画和游戏艺术计划中取得成功之后,阿什维尔高中正在探索将其扩展到其他课程。例如,工程部门对将 Splashtop 用于机器人课程感兴趣,而 Adobe Digital Design 的课堂讲师也正在采用它!

查找有关 Splashtop 教育远程解决方案的更多信息。如果您有其他疑问或想安排演示,请与我们联系。

细节

关于阿什维尔高中

阿什维尔高中是拥有4,400名学生的阿什维尔市学区中的10所 K-12 学校之一,该校的2017届学生中有88%毕业。高中的使命是“教育所有学生:成为有价值的公民、终身学习和个人成就感”。

阿什维尔高中的大约1200名学生中,估计有四分之一在上学期间至少参加了职业和技术教育(CTE)中的一门课。

关于用于远程实验室的 Splashtop

  • 用户可以从任何其他 Windows、Mac、iOS、Android 或 Chromebook 设备访问 Windows、Mac 和 Linux 计算机。
  • 通过高清质量和声音的快速连接(4k流),用户将能够轻松地远程控制实验室计算机。
  • 保持生产力的主要功能,包括拖放文件传输、远程打印、远程唤醒、远程重启、聊天等。
  • 安排远程访问权限,以便学生可以在计划的时间段内访问某些实验室计算机。
  • 获得顶级的远程访问功能,包括拖放文件传输、远程打印、远程唤醒、远程重启、聊天等。
  • 与其他较昂贵的远程访问产品相比,选择Splashtop最多可节省80%或更多。
  • 了解有关用于远程实验室的 Splashtop 的更多信息或与我们联系以免费试用。

Enabling Remote CTE Computer Animation & Game Design Classes

Student remote access to lab computers provides unexpected benefits

SUMMARY

Asheville High School, part of the Asheville (North Carolina) City Schools district, responded to the closure of its computer labs from the pandemic by providing Career and Technical Education (CTE) students with remote access to lab computers so they could run the software required for their computer animation and game arts classes.

THE CHALLENGE: PANDEMIC HALTS IN-PERSON COMPUTER LAB ACCESS

Kathryn Bradley teaches the computer animation and game arts classes at Asheville High School, two CTE electives students can take. Bradley’s class prepares students for careers in TV and movie production, advertising, game design, architecture, and more.

Students use the Mac workstations in the school’s computer labs to run the software they need for these classes, which include Adobe Creative Suite, Blender, Unity, and other 3D computer graphics, animation, video, and game design apps.

Access to these software programs is vital for Bradley’s classes, so when COVID-19 shutdown the campus, the students had no way to access the software they needed to continue their learning experience.

“When the pandemic first closed access to the computer labs, it was terrible,” said Bradley.

THE SOLUTION: SPLASHTOP ENABLES REMOTE COMPUTER LAB ACCESS

Needing to find a way to give the students access to the school provided resources they needed, Asheville High School sought out a solution that would enable students to access the school lab computers from their own devices at home.

Asheville High School decided to deploy Splashtop for remote labs for Kathryn Bradley’s CTE classes. With Splashtop, students can remotely access and control lab computers from their own computers, tablets, and Chromebook devices.

During the high-performance remote connections (which provide 4k streaming), students can see the screen of the lab computer in real-time. They can remotely control it and run any of the software applications as if they were sitting in the lab.

“Splashtop fills our need perfectly,” said Bradley. “We can do the full curriculum for the animation and game arts programs, using the lessons already developed prior to the pandemic.”

REMOTE ACCESS ENHANCES STUDENT ENGAGEMENT 24/7

An unexpected benefit of Splashtop for remote labs is that students now have access to the Mac lab computers outside of class time as well. They can remotely access the lab continues any time, from anywhere.

“There’s a huge advantage allowing students to use the animation and game-design applications whenever they want to, even if it’s at 2 am while eating cold pizza in their bedrooms,” said Bradley.

The additional access gives students more time to use the software apps the need, and helps them become more responsible for their time and study commitments.

“It’s hard to teach that kind of responsibility, but the more fluid access to the lab software has turned out to accelerate the process for many of our students,” she said.

BONUS: REMOTE ACCESS SUCCESS SPREADS BEYOND INITIAL IMPLEMENTATION

After seeing the success of Splashtop software in the animation and game arts programs, Asheville High School is exploring is expanding to other classes. For example, the engineering department is interested in using Splashtop for robotics classes, and the Adobe Digital Design class instructor is adopting it, too!

Find out more about Splashtop remote-access solutions for education. Contact us if you have further questions or would like to schedule a demo.

DETAILS

About Asheville High School

One of 10 K-12 schools in the 4,400-student Asheville City Schools district, Asheville High School graduated 88% of its Class of 2017 students. The high school has a mission of “educating all students for productive citizenship, lifelong learning, and personal fulfillment.”

An estimated one-fourth of the approximately 1,200 students at Asheville High School take at least one class in the Career and Technical Education (CTE) department during their time at the school.

About Splashtop for remote labs

  • Users can access Windows, Mac, and Linux computers from any other Windows, Mac, iOS, Android, or Chromebook device.
  • Users will be able to remote control lab computers with ease over fast connections (streaming in 4k) with HD quality and sound.
  • Top features to stay productive, including drag-and-drop file transfer, remote print, remote wake, remote reboot, chat, and more.
  • Schedule remote access permissions so students can access certain lab computers during scheduled time slots.
  • Get the top remote access features, including drag-and-drop file transfer, remote print, remote wake, remote reboot, chat, and more.
  • Save up to 80% or more when you choose Splashtop over other more expensive remote access products.
  • Learn more about Splashtop for remote labs or Contact Us to try it for free.