LISD 支持学生远程访问 CTE 计算机

Splashtop 远程实验室是 K-12 学校和地区的最佳选择

摘要

Lenawee 中级学区(LISD)为密歇根州 Lenawee 县的 K-12 学生提供了20多个职业技术教育(CTE)课程。为了确保学生可以在家中继续执行 CTE 程序并访问实验室计算机上的软件,LISD 部署了 Splashtop,使学生能够从自己的 Chromebook 和其他个人设备远程访问实验室计算机。

职业技术教育与远程学习的挑战

新冠肺炎大流行给 K-12 学区(包括 Lenawee 中级学区)带来了很多不确定性。进入2020-2021学年,LISD 希望确保在无法亲自上课的情况下继续学习。

需要解决的一个重要领域是如何使家庭学生可以使用职业技术教育(CTE)计划。

通过 LISD TECH 中心提供的 CTE 计划包括视频和音频制作、图形成像技术以及工程、设计和CAD。

这些 CTE 计划是在 LISD TECH 中心的专门教室中教授的。教室配备了实验室计算机,这些计算机具有与专业人士相同的软件应用程序。这些应用程序(例如 Photoshop、After Effects、Premier Pro 和 AutoCAD )通常占用大量资源,需要运行功能强大的计算机。

虽然 LISD TECH 中心能够为学生提供所需的必要硬件和软件工具,但当学生进行远程学习时,就会出现一个主要问题。如果无法访问计算机和软件应用程序,他们将无法继续学习。

使用远程访问来利用现有的实验室计算机

信息技术总监 Nicholas Adams 和网络管理员 Mats Holm 知道,克服这一挑战的最佳方法是使学生能够远程访问实验室计算机。

“我们无法为所有学生提供高性能 Mac 台式机,”亚当斯说,“因此,我们希望提供一个可以远程连接的解决方案。一些学校为学生提供了 Chromebook。在其他情况下,学生正在使用个人设备。”

Chromebook 在教育行业中很流行,但因无法运行大多数软件应用程序而臭名昭著。另外,许多学生所拥有的个人设备不如实验室计算机强大。亚当斯和霍尔姆斯在寻找解决方案时必须牢记这一点。

“我们想利用我们现有的基础架构,”亚当斯说。 “如果他们拥有 Chromebook,我们希望确保从 Chromebook 访问时应用程序能够正常工作。”

Splashtop 远程实验室可以胜任

Adams 和 Holm 评估了一些远程访问产品。最后,Splashtop 远程实验室被认为是最佳选择。

借助 Splashtop,学生可以从任何 Windows、Mac、iOS、Android 或 Chromebook 设备远程访问学校计算机。在远程桌面会话中,学生可以远程控制学校计算机并像坐在计算机前一样使用它。他们可以轻松地运行任何软件应用程序并打开远程计算机上的任何文件。

Lenawee ISD 选择 Splashtop 的原因有几个:

远程访问 Mac 时的音频

Adams 和 Holm 对他们测试的其他产品存在的一个问题是,当连接到 Mac 时,它们无法通过远程会话传输音频。考虑到视频和音频制作实验室由 Mac 计算机组成,这是一个很大的问题。

但是,当他们开始使用 Splashtop 远程音频时,效果很好。

霍尔姆说:“我在几台 Mac 电脑上安装了 Splashtop,并在自己的计算机上对其进行了测试,发现声音正常工作。因此我对此感到非常兴奋。”

“我们特地选择了 Splashtop,因为它是 Mac 的最佳解决方案,” Adams 说。

FERPA

“遵守 FERPA 对我们非常重要,”亚当斯说,“因此,很高兴知道 Splashtop 不会保留,操纵学生的信息或对其进行任何处理。如果不是用户主动操作,Splashtop不会保留或处理任何信息。”

请参阅 Splashtop 如何与 FERPA 要求兼容 )。

并发用户定价

Splashtop 远程实验室并非按学生或设备收费,而是按并发会话定价,从而降低了学区和大学的成本。

亚当斯说:“我们在 Splashtop 上出售了我们的管理系统,因为我们同时进行了坐席授权,我们将在一段时间内为学生分配一台计算机,就像我们在课堂上分配一个座位一样。”

未来的可能性

即使在新冠肺炎大流行过后,亚当斯和霍尔姆斯也发现了使用 Splashtop 远程实验室的潜在好处。

亚当斯说:“我们现在已经为学生是否进来做好了准备,”即使我们摆脱了这种新冠肺炎大流行的情况,我们可能还会出于其他原因让学生留在家里。Splashtop 将使我们能够为他们提供远程访问。我们以前可能没有确定需要的24小时虚拟实验室场景,Splashtop使这个虚拟实验室成为现实的可能。我们可以为学生提供随时随地访问的机会。”

---

Splashtop 远程实验室是寻求高性能、易于管理和安全的远程访问工具的教育机构的理想解决方案,学生和教职员工可以使用该工具访问校园内的计算机。与我们联系以免费开始并安排演示。

细节

关于 Lenawee 中级学区

Lenawee 中级学区是一家位于密歇根州的区域教育服务机构,为当地学区和该县近15,000名学生提供计划和支持服务。LISD TECH 中心为高中生提供了20多种职业技术教育(CTE)课程,包括视频和音频制作、图形成像技术等等。

CTE 计划在配备有必要软件应用程序和所需的高性能计算机的教室中进行授课。这些程序使学生能够学习如何使用专业人员使用的相同工具。

关于用于远程实验室的 Splashtop

  • 用户可以从任何其他 Windows、Mac、iOS、Android 或 Chromebook 设备访问 Windows、Mac 和 Linux 计算机。
  • 通过高清质量和声音的快速连接(4k流),用户将能够轻松地远程控制实验室计算机。
  • 安排远程访问权限,以便学生可以在计划的时间段内访问某些实验室计算机。
  • 获得顶级的远程访问功能,包括拖放文件传输、远程打印、远程唤醒、远程重启、聊天等。
  • 与其他较昂贵的远程访问产品相比,选择Splashtop最多可节省80%或更多。
  • 了解有关用于远程实验室的 Splashtop 的更多信息或与我们联系以免费试用。

LISD Enables Student Remote Access to CTE Computers

Splashtop for remote labs is the best choice for K-12 schools & districts

Summary

The Lenawee Intermediate School District (LISD) offers more than 20 Career Technical Education (CTE) programs for K-12 students in Lenawee County, Michigan. To ensure students can continue their CTE programs from home and access the software on the lab computers, the LISD deployed Splashtop to enable students to remotely access lab computers from their own Chromebooks and other personal devices.

THE CHALLENGE OF CAREER TECHNICAL EDUCATION & DISTANCE LEARNING

The COVID-19 pandemic has created a lot of uncertainty for K-12 school districts, including the Lenawee Intermediate School District. Going into the 2020-2021 school year, the LISD wants to ensure that students can continue their education in the event that they are unable to attended classes in-person.

One important area that needed to be addressed was how to make the Career Technical Education (CTE) programs accessible to students from home.

CTE programs offered through the LISD TECH Center include Video & Audio Production, Graphic Imaging Technology, and Engineering, Design & CAD.

These CTE programs are taught in specialized classrooms in the LISD TECH Center. The classrooms are equipped with lab computers that have the same software applications used by professionals. These applications, such as Photoshop, After Effects, Premier Pro, and AutoCAD, are often resource intensive, requiring powerful computers to run.

While the LISD TECH Center is able to provide students with the necessary hardware and software tools they need, a major problem arises when students are distance learning. Without access to the computers and software applications, they cannot continue their education.

LEVERAGING EXISTING LAB COMPUTERS WITH REMOTE ACCESS

Nicholas Adams, the Director of Information Technology, and Mats Holm, Network Administrator, knew that the best way to overcome this challenge was to enable students to remotely access the lab computers.

“We couldn’t provide all students with their own high-powered Mac desktop,” Adams said, “so we wanted to provide a solution where they could connect remotely. Some schools provided their students with Chromebooks. In other cases the students are using personal devices.”

Chromebooks are popular in the education industry but are notorious for not being able to run most software applications. Also, many students have personal devices that aren’t as powerful as the lab computers. Adams and Holms had to keep this in mind when looking for solutions.

“We wanted to leverage our existing infrastructure,” Adams said. “If they had a Chromebook, we wanted to make sure the applications worked when accessing from a Chromebook.”

SPLASHTOP FOR REMOTE LABS GETS THE JOB DONE

Adams and Holm evaluated a few remote access products. In the end, Splashtop for remote labs was considered the best choice.

With Splashtop, students are able to remotely access school computers from any Windows, Mac, iOS, Android, or Chromebook device. Once in a remote desktop session, students can remotely control the school computer and use it as if they were sitting in front of it. They can run any software application and open any file on the remote computer with ease.

There were several reasons why Lenawee ISD preferred Splashtop:

Audio when remotely accessing Mac

A problem Adams and Holm had with the other products they tested was that they weren’t able transmit audio across the remote session when connecting into a Mac. This was a big problem considering the video & audio production lab is comprised of Mac computers.

However, the remote audio worked great when they started using Splashtop.

“I installed Splashtop on a few of Macs and tested it from my own computer and the sound worked, so I was very excited about that,” said Holm.

“We specifically got Splashtop because it was the top solution for Macs,” said Adams.

FERPA

“FERPA compliance is very important to us,” Adams said, “so it’s great to know that Splashtop isn’t going to retain, manipulate, or do anything with the students’ information. Splashtop wouldn’t have passed the gate if they didn’t have that.”

(see how Splashtop is compatible with FERPA requirements).

Priced by Concurrent Users

Rather than charging per student or per device, Splashtop for remote labs is priced per concurrent session, keeping costs down for school districts and colleges.

“Our administration was sold on Splashtop because we’re doing concurrent seat licensing,” said Adams, “We’ll assign a computer to the student during a certain time, just like we’ll assign a seat in the class.”

Future Possibilities

Even after the pandemic passes, Adams and Holms see many potential benefits to having Splashtop for remote labs in place.

“We’re prepared now whether students come in or not,” Adams said, “Once we’re out of this pandemic scenario, we might have students that need to stay home for other reasons. Splashtop will allow us to provide them with remote access. It also opens our labs for a potential 24 hour virtual lab scenario that wasn’t previously identified as a need. We can provide students with the opportunity to access anytime, anyplace, anywhere.”

—-

Splashtop for remote labs is the ideal solution for educational institutions looking for a high performance, easy to manage, and secure remote access tool that students and faculty can use to access on-campus machines. Contact us to get started for free and schedule a demo.

DETAILS

About Lenawee Intermediate School District

The Lenawee Intermediate School District is a regional education service agency based in Michigan that provides programs and support services for its local school districts and nearly 15,000 students in the county. The LISD TECH Center offers high school students more than 20 Career Technical Education (CTE) programs, including Video and Audio Production, Graphic Imaging Technology, and more.

The CTE programs are taught in classrooms equipped with the necessary software applications and high-powered computers that they require. These programs enable students to learn how to use the same tools used by professionals.

About Splashtop for remote labs

  • Users can access Windows, Mac, and Linux computers from any other Windows, Mac, iOS, Android, or Chromebook device.
  • Users will be able to remote control lab computers with ease over fast connections (streaming in 4k) with HD quality and sound.
  • Schedule remote access permissions so students can access certain lab computers during scheduled time slots.
  • Get the top remote access features, including drag-and-drop file transfer, remote print, remote wake, remote reboot, chat, and more.
  • Save up to 80% or more when you choose Splashtop over other more expensive remote access products.
  • Learn more about Splashtop for remote labs or Contact Us to try it for free.
PDF Version of the Case Study

Virginia Tech – Remote Support for IT
Lenawee ISD – Remote Desktop for K-12 CTE