寻找负担得起的企业级远程访问解决方案,以有效地支持您的混合学习计划吗?免费试用 Splashtop,几分钟即可启动并运行。

借助 Splashtop,成千上万的 K-12 和高等教育机构都可以对运行 Adobe、Autodesk 和其他已获许可的应用程序的 Windows 和 Mac 实验室计算机进行高性能、快速部署的远程访问。

本地 VDI 实施、扩展和维护复杂且成本高昂。来自 Amazon Workspaces、VMware Horizon Cloud、Azure 上的 Microsoft Windows 虚拟桌面(WVD)和 Citrix Managed Desktops 的基于云的 DaaS(桌面即服务)已经成为按需购买计算平台。

但是,由于整个组织和教育机构必须远程继续其业务和教育,VDI 和 DaaS 的许多缺点最近已被放大。诸如Splashtop 之类的远程桌面解决方案克服了这些挑战,并且更适合于当今的快速部署需求。尤其是希望为现有的在家里或者宿舍学习的学生提供现有校园计算机资源24 × 7访问的 K-12 和高等教育机构。

在新冠肺炎期间,成千上万的学校和学院采用 Splashtop 作为 VDI 和 DaaS 的替代产品。可以根据要求提供参考。


让我们详细探讨将 Splashtop 远程桌面与 VDI / DaaS 进行远程计算机实验室的比较:

Splashtop 远程实验室 VDI / DaaS
性能 学生将获得可靠的高性能远程会话,使他们能够以低延迟执行视频编辑、图形设计、创建动画、编码等任务。Splashtop 支持 NVIDIA 和 AMD GPU 加速。 DaaS 和 VDI 基础设施可能位于距学校数百英里的地方,从而导致远程访问体验缓慢,从而影响了生产力。
软件许可 不需要其他软件许可证。

学生可以访问实验室计算机并使用现有的许可应用程序,例如 Adobe Creative Suite,其中包括 Photoshop、Illustrator、InDesign、Dreamweaver 和 After Effects;AutoDesk AutoCAD、Revit、3ds Max、Fusion 360 和 Maya;Avid Media Composer 和 Pro Tools;Vectorworks、ArcGIS、Rhino、SketchUp、SolidWorks 等,就像在校园中一样。

许多现有应用程序需要具有涵盖虚拟化的不同许可证。实际上,一些软件供应商由于无法正确跟踪许可而不允许对其软件进行虚拟化,而提供虚拟化许可的软件供应商通常要收取额外费用。与所有软件供应商合作进行许可将扩大许可管理的复杂性、成本和时间。
快速部署 几分钟即可启动并运行 VDI 需要数月,而 DaaS 需要数周。让不同的软件应用程序供应商获得虚拟化使用许可可能需要几个月的时间。一些软件供应商根本不允许虚拟化。
安排学生访问 教育机构的 IT 管理员可以安排特定的时间,并通过集中式管理控制台管理学生访问实验室计算机的权限,从而使 IT 管理员可以严格控制访问和使用情况。 没有调度功能。
产生的成本和利用现有资源的能力 支付并发用户许可证并利用计算机的现有资源。物理计算机(CapEx)使机构可以更好地管理和控制预算。 运营成本(OpEx)可能非常高,尤其是在按计量或按需计算的基础上。学生使用率高会大大提高价格。想象一下,许多学生忘记注销他们一直运行的 VDI cloud 案例。
数据安全与隐私 所有数据均位于实验室中。 使用 DaaS 时,由于数据存储在云中,因此需要仔细检查和监视以保护用户隐私。还有其他数据隐私合规性要求开销和风险。
Mac 支持 许多计算机实验室都具有 Windows 和 Mac 计算机。Splashtop 可在 Windows 和 Mac 上提供一致的用户体验。
协助学生学习的能力 教师可以参加任何学生的远程访问会话,以解决问题。
最适合混合学习 课堂和远程学习的结合是未来的趋势,Splashtop 是最合适的远程访问合作伙伴。学生可以在校园内使用实验室计算机,也可以在家中远程访问同一台计算机。 不适合混合学习环境。

Splashtop 已与 AWS,GCP 和 Azure 建立了合作伙伴关系。即将到来的 Splashtop roadmap 包括对 DaaS 的支持,以按需交付更多工作负载。此外,这允许教育机构在承担按需 cloud 工作区/软件的费用之前首先优先考虑现有物理实验室的使用。IT 团队可以利用 Splashtop 的计划和可管理性功能来完全控制和监视物理实验室以及cloud VDI 虚拟实例。

立即与我们联系以为您的远程实验室设置演示!

Splashtop 在全球有超过3000万人使用。了解有关用于远程计算机实验室的 Splashtop 的更多信息

Looking for an affordable, enterprise-grade remote access solution that will effectively support your hybrid learning program? Try Splashtop for free and you will be up and running in minutes.

With Splashtop, thousands of K-12 and higher education institutions are enjoying high performance, quick-to-deploy remote access to existing Windows and Mac lab computers running Adobe, Autodesk, and other applications that are already licensed.

On-premise VDI is known to be complex and costly to implement, scale, and maintain. Cloud-based DaaS (Desktop as a Service) from Amazon Workspaces, VMware Horizon Cloud, Microsoft Windows Virtual Desktop (WVD) on Azure, and Citrix Managed Desktops have emerged as the on-demand, pay-as-you-go computing platforms.

However, VDI and DaaS have many shortcomings that have been magnified recently due to entire organizations and educational institutions having to continue their business and education remotely. Remote desktop solutions like Splashtop overcome these challenges and are better suited to today’s quick-to-deploy needs, especially those of K-12 and higher-education institutions looking to make existing on-campus computer resources available to their students who are learning from home or dorm rooms 24×7.

During COVID-19, thousands of schools and colleges have adopted Splashtop as a superior alternative to VDI and DaaS. References can be provided upon request.


Let’s explore the comparison of Splashtop remote desktop vs. VDI / DaaS for remote computer labs in detail:

Splashtop for remote labs VDI / DaaS
Performance Students get reliable, high-performance remote sessions allowing them to carry out tasks like video-editing, graphic design, creating animations, coding, and much more with low latency. Splashtop supports NVIDIA and AMD GPU acceleration. DaaS and VDI infrastructure could be located many hundreds of miles away from schools resulting in laggy remote access experience, hampering productivity.
Software Licensing No additional software licenses are required.

Students can access the lab computers and use existing licensed applications like Adobe Creative Suite, which includes Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign, Dreamweaver and After Effects; AutoDesk AutoCAD, Revit, 3ds Max, Fusion 360, and Maya; Avid Media Composer and Pro Tools; Vectorworks, ArcGIS, Rhino, SketchUp, SolidWorks, and many more, just as they would on campus.

Many of the existing apps would need to have different licenses that cover virtualization. In fact, some software vendors do not allow their software to be virtualized due to their inability to properly track licensing, and ones that do offer virtualization licensing often charge a premium. Engaging all the software vendors to relicense will expand license management complexity, cost, and time.
Quick to Deploy Up and running in minutes VDI takes months / DaaS takes weeks. Engaging different software app vendors to relicense for virtualization usage can take months. Some software vendors simply do not allow for virtualization.
Scheduling Student Access IT admins of educational institutions can schedule specific times, and manage permissions for students to access lab computers through a centralized admin console, giving IT admins tight control over access and usage. No scheduling feature.
Cost Incurred and Ability to Leverage Existing Investment Pay for concurrent user licenses and utilize existing investment in computers. Physical computers (CapEx) allow institutions to better manage and control their budget. The operating cost (OpEx) can be very high especially when based on a metered or on demand bases. High student usage drives the price up significantly. Imagine many students forgetting to log off their VDI cloud instances that kept running.
Data Security and Privacy All data resides in labs. With DaaS, careful review and monitoring are required to protect user privacy as data is stored in the cloud. There are additional data privacy compliance requirements overhead and risks.
Mac Support Many computer labs have Windows as well as Mac computers. Splashtop delivers a consistent user experience across Windows and Macs.
Ability to Assist Students In-session Faculty members can join any student’s remote access session to address questions and issues.
Best Suited for Hybrid Learning A combination of in-classroom and remote learning is the future and Splashtop is the best-suited remote access partner. Students can work on the lab computers when on campus and can also get remote access to the same computers from home. Not suitable for a hybrid learning environment.

Splashtop has established partnerships with AWS, GCP, and Azure. Upcoming Splashtop roadmap includes support for DaaS to deliver additional workload on-demand. Furthermore, this allows educational institutions to prioritize usage of existing physical labs first before incurring the expenses of on-demand cloud workspace / software. IT teams can leverage Splashtop’s scheduling and manageability features to fully control and monitor physical labs as well as cloud VDI virtual instances.

Contact us to set up a demo for your remote lab today!

Splashtop is used by over 30 million people worldwide. Read more about Splashtop for remote computer labs.