在COVID19危机中实现抵御能力:BDP分享了Splashtop的故事

BDP如何让所有员工在48小时内远程工作

摘要

BDP 信息技术和流程负责人 Alistair Kell 解释了在 COVID19 危机期间,他的公司——一家由建筑师、设计师、工程师和都市人组成的国际跨学科实践机构——如何让所有员工在 48 小时内使用Splashtop 远程访问解决方案远程工作。

当COVID19命中时,BDP考虑了多种选择以使员工能够在家工作。高效工作所需的软件员工数量,庞大的团队规模和紧迫感使这一挑战变得非常艰巨:

  • 硬件需求–员工会拥有一台可以在家中连接的个人计算机,还是只有一台BDP笔记本电脑?
  • 保持当前基础架构的稳定性– BDP如何在确保公司基础架构没有不必要的变化的同时保持一切稳定?
  • 紧迫性和成本– BDP如何快速部署而又不会产生不合理的成本?

由于所有这些担忧,BDP认为整个远程过程都需要至少两到三个星期的动荡才能做好准备。但是,多亏了BDP的IT团队和Splashtop远程访问解决方案,才花了很长时间。

“在宣布员工可以选择在家工作的48小时内,该过程像任何人所希望的一样顺利和无缝。” – Alistair Kell

BDP如何使员工在48小时内远程工作

当COVID19首次出现时,BDP必须关闭其在上海和新加坡的工作室一段时间。这导致BDP考虑了几种远程访问选项,并在所有办公室被迫关闭之前提前进行准备。

“我们在全球16个地区拥有约1,350名员工,已经有650个笔记本电脑用户,他们都可以使用Microsoft Direct Access连接到BDP网络,从而可以在任何位置进行日常工作,” Alistair说。

尽管该系统对于BDP员工使用的大多数软件都可以成功运行,但不适用于Revit(该软件可以帮助建筑师专业人员共同工作)。 Revit无法与多个连接的用户一起很好地工作:性能低,延迟长且3D交互滞后。

除了Revit之外,BDP还具有400多个单独的软件标题,如果他们要使用它们进行远程工作,则需要在他们的计算机上安装它们。凯尔说:“在本地安装所有这些设备将是一项不可能的任务,因为许多设备在脱离局域网时根本无法工作。”

那就是Splashtop进来的地方

Splashtop Business Access允许BDP员工远程访问他们的工作机器,就像坐在他们前面一样。因此,不再需要在笔记本电脑上本地安装任何软件,并且可以更快地启用远程工作。

BDP最初在一个星期四晚上购买了100个许可证,并在下一个星期一之前将所有这些许可证用于所有位置的初始测试。这使BDP可以测试各种方案,正确配置并更好地了解管理控制台。

然后,BDP开始更广泛的部署,将许可数量增加到600。内部IT团队将Splashtop接收器部署到所有机器上,并且每个位置的员工都将员工与机器ID相匹配并支持向Splashtop进行注册,而一个中央小组则使用户适应其工作个人电脑。

为了简化流程,BDP为所有员工准备了简单的指南,并为IT服务台提供了更多的指导和培训。整个过程耗时一个星期,一旦BDP宣布需要完全远程化,就只需48小时即可将公司远程化。

结果

最后,BDP在Splashtop中找到了使1350名员工在家工作所需的解决方案。

该公司曾考虑过其他产品,但Splashtop提供了竞争性解决方案,允许企业级管理和多因素身份验证。

BDP现在正在从多伦多到英国,中东和北非,印度和中国的所有地区使用Splashtop Business Access。

亲自尝试Splashtop Business Access!无需信用或承诺即可开始免费试用。

细节

关于BDP

BDP成立于1961年,是英国第二大建筑师主导的公司,在全球设有16个分支机构,拥有1,350名员工。 BDP在所有主要领域均拥有领先的记录,包括健康,教育,工作场所,零售,城市化,遗产,住房,交通,休闲,公共安全和能源公用事业。这包括英国国会大厦的修复。

关于Splashtop商业访问

Splashtop Business Access是一个远程桌面访问工具,使您可以随时随地访问计算机。

借助它,您可以从任何其他Windows,Mac,iOS,Android或Chromebook设备访问Windows Mac和Linux计算机。

您将能够控制计算机并访问所有应用程序,文件和数据。

免费试用 (无需信用卡)。

“我们考虑了其他产品,但Splashtop提供了竞争性解决方案,允许企业级管理和多因素身份验证。 Splashtop使我们能够利用功能强大的预制计算机,使用户可以访问常规桌面。”

  • Alistair Kell BDP负责人兼信息技术和流程负责人
案例研究的PDF版本
BDP 在建筑行业中的案例研究

BDP – 英国大型建筑师主导的公司

Achieving Resilience During the COVID19 Crisis: BDP Shares their Splashtop Story

How BDP Got All Employees Working Remotely in 48 Hours

SUMMARY

Alistair Kell, principal and head of information technology and processes at BDP, explains how during the COVID19 crisis, his company– an international, interdisciplinary practice of architects, designers, engineers and urbanists — got all employees working remotely in 48 hours with Splashtop Remote Access Solutions.

When COVID19 hit, BDP looked at several options to enable employees to work from home. The number of software employees needed to access for working efficiently, the big size of the team, and a sense of urgency made this quite the challenge:

  • Hardware needs – Would employees have a personal computer they could connect from at home, or would they only have a BDP laptop?
  • Keeping the current infrastructure stable – How could BDP keep everything stable while ensuring there were no unnecessary changes to the company underlying infrastructure?
  • Urgency and cost – How could BDP deploy quickly without incurring an unreasonable cost?

Due to all these concerns, BDP believed that the whole process to go remote would take at least two or three weeks of turmoil in getting ready. However, thanks to BDP’s IT team and Splashtop remote access solutions, it didn’t take so long.

“Within 48 hours of announcing that staff might choose to work from home, the process was as smooth and seamless as anyone could ever have hoped for.” – Alistair Kell

How BDP enabled employees to work remotely in 48 hours

When COVID19 first appeared, BDP had to shut off its studios in Shanghai and Singapore for some time. This led BDP to consider several options for remote access and prepare ahead of time before all their offices were forced to close.

“From a staff base of approximately 1,350 in 16 locations around the world, we already had 650 laptop users, who could all connect into the BDP network using Microsoft Direct Access, allowing day-to-day working from any location,“ said Alistair.

While this system worked successfully for the majority of software BDP employees used, it did not work for Revit – a software that helps architects professionals work together. Revit did not work well with multiple connected users: low performance, high latency and lag in 3D interactions.

In addition to Revit, BDP had over 400 separate software titles that needed to be installed on each user’s machine if they were to use them to work remotely. “It would have been an impossible task to install all these natively as many did not work at all when off LANs,” said Kell.

That’s where Splashtop came in

Splashtop Business Access allowed BDP employees to remotely access their work machines as if there were sitting in front of them. So there was no longer a need for natively installing any software on the laptops, and remote work could be enabled faster.

BDP originally purchased 100 licenses on a Thursday evening and used all of these for initial testing across all locations by the following Monday. This allowed BDP to test various scenarios, get the configuration right, and better understand the management console.

BDP then began a wider rollout, increasing licensing to 600. The in house IT team deployed the Splashtop receiver to all machines and had staff in each location matching employees to machine IDs and supporting registration to Splashtop, while a central group aligned users to their work PCs.

To streamline the process, BDP prepared simple guidance given to all staff with more orientation and training given to the IT help desk. This whole process took one week, and once BDP announced that it needed to go fully remote, it took only 48 hours to take the company remote.

The Results

In the end, BDP found in Splashtop, the solution they needed for enabling 1350 employees to work from home.

The firm had considered other products, but Splashtop offered a competitive solution that allowed enterprise-level management and multi-factor authentication.

BDP is now using Splashtop Business Access across all locations from Toronto through the UK, MENA, India, and China.

Try Splashtop Business Access for yourself! No credit or commitment required to start a free trial.

DETAILS

About BDP

Founded in 1961, BDP is the 2nd largest architect-led firm in the UK, with over 16 locations globally and 1,350 employees. BDP has a leading track record in all major sectors, including health, education, workplace, retail, urbanism, heritage, housing, transport, leisure, public safety, and energy utilities. This includes the restoration of the UK Houses of Parliament.

About Splashtop Business Access

Splashtop Business Access is a remote desktop access tool that enables you to access your computers on the go.

With it, you can access your Windows Mac, and Linux computers from any other Windows, Mac, iOS, Android, or Chromebook device.

You’ll be able to control your computer and access all your applications, files, and data.

Try it for free (with no credit card required).

“We considered other products but Splashtop offered a competitive solution that allowed enterprise level management and Multi Factor Authentication. Splashtop allowed us to leverage the powerful, prebuilt machines we had in place with users accessing their regular desktops.”

  • Alistair Kell Principal and head of information technology and processes at BDP
PDF Version of the Case Study

BDP In Architecture Industry Case Study

BDP – A Large Architect-Led Firm in the UK