使用远程访问和文档安全软件解决在线教育挑战

远程学习资源

在新冠肺炎大流行之后,教育机构面临着严重的困境。根据世界经济论坛和联合国教科文组织的数据 ,截至2020年4月下旬,在186个国家中有超过12亿儿童受到学校关闭的影响。

考虑到学生和教职工的安全,许多机构已经或正在考虑通过电子学习和远程学习在线上课。尽管这确保了业务和学生教育的连续性,但是远程学习的影响仍然存在一些不确定性。学生家长希望放心,教育质量不会受到负面影响,并且学费合理。因此,学校、大学和其他教育提供者承受着确保无缝过渡到远程学习的压力。

4个在线教育的挑战

作为教育提供者,您需要确保远程学习可以有效地复制面对面的学习体验。为此,您将需要克服一些关键挑战。

  1. 使校园计算机资源可供学生和教师在家使用

    交付有效的远程学习计划并证明学生费用合理的重要组成部分是使学生能够像在课堂学习中一样访问现场计算机资源。

    学生需要访问软件应用程序,例如用于编程、3D设计、视频编辑的软件应用程序,以及用于其课程学习的更多软件。院校为学生提供单独的软件许可证是不可行的,并且并非所有学生在家中都拥有功能强大的计算机来运行 Adobe 和 Autodesk 等桌面应用程序。

    就像学生一样,您的教师也需要在家工作。因此,他们将需要能够远程登录校园计算机,设置实验室计算机,共享课程文件,检查学生提交的内容并与之交互。

    尽管一开始 VPN 看起来似乎是一种简单而安全的选择,但它们的设置、维护和扩展成本可能很高,而且还会引起延迟问题。

  2. 考虑到复杂性的增加,使 IT 团队能够进行支持和故障排除

    即使在面对面学习中,保持学生的参与度和专注度也是一个挑战。在远程环境中,存在技术问题时,这种情况可能会进一步加剧。视频流问题,实验室计算机上的软件崩溃,文件传输问题,培训等可能会干扰课程的顺利进行。对这些问题进行故障排除将需要您的 IT 团队远程访问广泛的学生和教职设备以及学校计算机。

  3. 保护专有学习资料

    当您在线分发课程时,还存在这些材料泄漏到授权用户之外的危险。例如,与学生共享的讲义、练习和教程问题的答案可以下载或转发给非付费用户。更糟糕的是,它们可能会泄露给竞争对手,他们可以使用它来进行自己的课程。当您花费数千小时来开发这些材料时,这种泄漏会侵蚀您的收入,损害您的声誉和竞争地位。

  4. 跟踪学生参与度并监控在线考试

    在面对面学习中,更容易知道哪些学生参与了学习材料并与之互动。但是,当每个人都远程登录课程时,老师可能很难让学生保持兴趣并检查他们是否关注课程内容。您将无法知道学生是真的阅读了您的讲义还是观看了您的视频。而且,当您为他们的教程或考试评分时,您将失去宝贵的时间来激励他们,他们的信心也可能会受到打击。

    如今,监考也可能是一个挑战,因为如今学生发现越来越多的巧妙方法来欺骗在线考试 。您有责任验证他们的身份,确保每个人都有相同的分配时间完成考试并防止泄露机密的考试问题。不采取任何这些措施都会降低课程质量和机构声誉。

远程学习资源解决在线教育挑战

尽管有许多免费的远程学习资源可用于分发讲座,例如视频会议和托管工具,但仅靠这些还远远不够。您还需要一种允许教师远程提供其他学习模式的方法,包括实验室和相关许可软件的动手使用。

Splashtop 用于教育机构的远程访问

Splashtop 为教育机构提供了安全的远程访问和远程支持解决方案以解决这些挑战。学生可以从任何设备,从任何地方访问 Windows 和 Mac 实验室计算机。他们可以使用笔记本电脑,Chromebook 和家里的任何设备,并远程控制实验室计算机来访问具有高性能功能的资源密集型软件应用程序,就像坐在实验室计算机前一样。教师还可以在家中访问学校的计算机,传输文件,查看多台监视器并开始与学生聊天。

立即与我们联系以设置您的远程计算机实验室

Splashtop 还通过其安全的远程支持解决方案为您的 IT 团队解决远程支持方面的挑战,为您提供支持和故障排除。这些使 IT 管理员可以立即解决学生和教师的计算机和移动设备上的技术问题,以便他们可以立即继续上课。

免费试用 Splashtop SOS。

Digify 文档安全保护专有学习材料

同时,教育机构可以使用 Digify 保护其课程内容和机密考试题,以防泄漏。Digify 通过仅限付费学生访问来为您的课程材料提供文档安全性和保护。课程和考试结束后,您还可以将对这些材料的访问权设置为过期。这样可以防止非付费学生访问内容,也可以防止竞争对手利用您的知识产权将其用于自己的收益。RTD Learning 发现他们使用 Digify 保护其课程资料免遭未经授权的共享时,这可以帮助您更有效地利用内容获利。

Digify 还为您提供了一种有效的方法来跟踪学生对课程内容的参与。通过其文件安全和数据室解决方案,Digify 可使您的教职员工长时间地跟踪哪些学生可以访问该材料,从而使您可以相应地转移教学资源以获得个性化支持。对于在线督导考试,它也可以是廉价而又容易的选择,尤其是与基于电子邮件和网络摄像头的监控结合使用时。

适应远程学习挑战的教育机构必将面临财务和技术挑战。但是,借助 Splashtop 等远程访问解决方案和 Digify 等文档安全解决方案,您不仅可以生存,还可以适应和发展业务。

立即保护您专有的学习内容。开始试用 Digify

Solving Online Education Challenges with Remote Access and Document Security Software

remote learning resources

Educational institutions are facing a serious dilemma in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic. As of late April 2020, there were more than 1.2 billion children in 186 countries affected by school closures, according to the World Economic Forum and UNESCO data.

Keeping in mind the safety of students and staff, many institutions have already taken or are considering taking classes online via e-learning and remote learning delivery. While this ensures continuity for both their business and the students’ education, there is still some uncertainty about the impact of remote learning. Parents of students want to be assured that the quality of education will not be negatively affected and that it will continue to justify the tuition fees. Schools, universities and other education providers are therefore under pressure to ensure that the shift to remote learning will be seamless.

4 Challenges of Online Education

As an education provider you need to ensure that remote learning can efficiently replicate the face-to-face learning experience. To achieve this, you will need to overcome some key challenges.

  1. Making on-campus computer resources available to students and faculty at home

    An important component of delivering an effective remote learning program and justifying student fees is enabling students to access on-site computer resources just like they would during in-classroom learning.

    Students need access to software applications like those for programming, 3D designing, video-editing, and much more for their coursework. It is not feasible for institutions to provide individual software licenses for students, and not all students have powerful computers at home to run the desktop apps like Adobe and Autodesk.

    Just like students, your faculty also need to work from home. They will therefore need to be able to log into on-campus computers remotely, set up lab computers, share lesson files, check students’ submissions and interact with them.

    While VPNs may seem like an easy and secure option at first, they can be expensive to set up, maintain and scale and can also cause lag issues.

  2. Enabling IT teams to support and troubleshoot given the increased complexity

    Keeping students engaged and attentive is a challenge even in face-to-face learning. In a remote setting, this can be further exacerbated when there are technical issues. Problems with video streaming, software crash on lab computers, file transfer issues, training, and others can disrupt the smooth running of a class. Troubleshooting these issues will require your IT teams to access the broad range of student and faculty devices as well as school computers remotely.

  3. Protecting proprietary learning material

    When you distribute your courses online, there is also the danger of these materials being leaked outside of authorized users. For example, lecture notes, exercises and answers to tutorial questions shared with students can be downloaded or forwarded to non-paid users. Even worse, they could be leaked to competitors who could use it to conduct their own courses. When you spend thousands of hours developing these materials, such leakage can erode your revenue, harm your reputation and competitive positioning.

  4. Tracking student engagement and monitoring online exams

    In face-to-face learning, it is easier to know which students are engaged and interacting with the learning material. But when everyone is logging into classes remotely, it can be hard for your teachers to keep students interested and check if they are following the course content. You will have no way of knowing whether students really read your lecture notes or watched your videos. And by the time you grade their tutorials or exams, you will have lost valuable time to motivate them and their confidence may have taken a hit as well.

    Even monitoring the exams can be a challenge, with students finding more and more ingenious ways to cheat in online exams these days. It is up to you to verify their identity, ensure everyone has the same allotted time to finish the exam and to prevent leakage of confidential exam questions. Failing to do any of these can diminish the quality of your courses and the reputation of your institution.

Remote Learning Resources to Solve Online Education Challenges

While there are a number of free remote learning resources for distributing lectures, like video conferencing and hosting tools, these alone are not enough. You also need a way to allow faculty to deliver other modes of learning remotely, including labs and hands-on use of relevant licensed software.

Splashtop Remote Access for Educational Institutions

Splashtop provides secure remote access and remote support solutions for educational institutions to solve these challenges. Students can access Windows and Mac lab computers from any device, and from anywhere. They can use laptops, Chromebooks and any device at home and remotely control lab computers to access resource-intensive software applications with high performance features, as if they were sitting in front of the lab computers. Faculty can also access school computers from their homes, transfer files, view multiple monitors and start chats with students.

Contact us to set up your remote computer lab today.

Splashtop also solves the remote access challenges for your IT teams in providing support and troubleshooting with its secure remote support solutions. These allow IT admins to resolve technical issues on students’ and teachers’ computers and mobile devices instantly so they can resume their classes immediately.

Try Splashtop SOS for free.

Digify Document Security to Protect Proprietary Learning Material

Meanwhile, educational institutions can use Digify to protect their course content and confidential exam questions from leaking. Digify provides document security and protection for your course materials by restricting access to only paid students. You can also set the access to these materials to expire once the course and its exams are concluded. This prevents non-paid students from accessing the content and from competitors taking your intellectual property to use it for their own gains. This helps you monetize your content more effectively, as RTD Learning found out when they used Digify to protect their course materials from unauthorized sharing.

Digify also gives you an effective way to track students’ engagement with your course content. Through its document security and data room solutions, Digify lets your faculty and teachers track which students access the material, when and for long, allowing you to divert teaching resources accordingly for personalized support. It also can be a cheap and easy alternative to online proctored exams, especially when used in combination with email and webcam based monitoring.

Educational institutions adapting to the challenge of remote learning will face financial and technology challenges for sure. But with the help of remote access solutions like Splashtop and document security solutions like Digify, you can not only survive but adapt and grow your business.

Protect your proprietary learning content today. Start a Digify trial.